History in the News: Historic Newspapers

Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.

Since 1800 over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1690-present and information about other American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Full-text, mostly late 18th/early 19th century, covering colonial and early American history, with titles from 23 states and DC. With issues from over 700 titles (for most titles the holdings are scattered). Includes some Kentucky titles.

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.

"The New York Times of the 18th century."

Folio I: "Benjamin Franklin's Newspaper" (1728–1750)
Folio II: “"The French & Indian War" (1751–1765)
Folio III: "The American Revolution" (1766–1783)
Folio IV: "The New Republic" (1784–1800)

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Search interface and list of the nearly 1,300 international news resources available in Access World News (NewsBank).

Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.

Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Over 600,000 titles held at CRL are searchable through the catalog, including collections of newspapers, microform, journals, and dissertations. Coverage for all formats is international. Holdings are often unique and hard to find elsewhere.

Full-text of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers covering 1832-1953. Includes critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads. Coverage: 1832-1953

Full color facsimile run of over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. Full-text searchable and browsable individual issues, including specials and supplements. Articles and pages can be saved in the marked list then bookmarked, e-mailed and printed.

Collection of more than 280 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from 20 countries featuring Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.

Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.

News research and press clipping service that retrospectively covers mainstream publications in South Africa, from 1978 to present day. Since much reporting on Africa is done in South Africa, these newspapers provide coverage of a range of issues facing countries throughout the entire African continent.

Currently includes the full-text of the Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta, India, 1870-1922), Bankura Darpan (Bankura, India, 1903-1908), Ceylon Observer, Indian People (Allahabad, India, 1903-1909), Kayasare Hinda (Bombay, 1882-1922), Leader (Allahabad, 1909-1922), Madras Mail (1868-1889), Pioneer (Allahabad, 1865-1903) and Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan, 1881-1922). All are in English, with the Kayasare Hinda also in Gujarati.

Digital archives (with PDFs) dating back to 1888 (for the Lexington Leader) and 1896 (for the Morning Herald) to present day as the Lexington Herald-Leader. Text archives back to 1983.

Consists of more than 2 million unique photographic negatives. The collection also contains associated newspaper clippings, job sheets, and hand-written photographers' notes. The LHL photographs are a source of photographic evidence of the many historical, cultural, and industrial changes that have shaped Lexington and the surrounding region.

Digital coverage runs from Jan. 2, 1999 - present

Nineteenth century newspaper collection that includes The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass’ Paper/Douglass' Monthly, Freedmen's Journal (Freedmen's Record), Freedom’s Journal, The National Era, The Negro Business League Herald, The North Star, and Provincial Freeman.

Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable.

From ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

From ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

From ProQuest Historical Newspapers