Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* History: Articles

A general guide to UK Libraries' resources for historical research.

Databases for Journal Articles in History

America: History and Life 

Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal literature, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals.

Historical Abstracts

Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). The database provides annotated bibliographic entries from 2,000 journals published worldwide.

AfricaBib

A collection of Africana social science titles. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research.  The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two bibliographies were added, one on Islam in Africa, compiled by Paul Schrijver, the other on the Kenya Coast, compiled by Jan Hoorweg. In July 2014 Water and Africa was added. Followed in September 2017 by Education in Africa.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Western-language database for research on East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers a broad range of subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online

Provides citations to articles in hundreds of social science and humanities journals worldwide that cover Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Specific topics include current political, economic, and social issues and coverage of Latin American arts and letters. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

Indexes the journal literature (some 4,500 periodicals) covering the European middle ages (c. 300-1500).

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700): citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) and citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogs). Some full-text included.‚Äč

Databases for Journal Articles in Multi-Disciplines

Academic Search Complete 

Full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. In addition to searching by author, title keywords, subject terms and author addresses, you can also search by the specific references and works (e.g., art works, musical scores, books) that the indexed articles cite. Links to Cited References and Times Cites (with links to the citing article if it is included in the database) are available in each record. A&HCI covers over 1,700 core journals plus selected articles from social science and scientific publications that are relevant to arts and humanities topics. 

JSTOR 

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in E-Journals A-Z.