Jack the Ripper's London: Primary Source Databases & Periodicals

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

"Advice Literature for men and women." Access to approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, including a strong core of documents from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals.

Full color facsimile run of over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. Full-text searchable and browsable individual issues, including specials and supplements. Articles and pages can be saved in the marked list then bookmarked, e-mailed and printed.

From salacious ‘swell’s guides’ to scandalous broadsides and subversive posters, the material sold and exchanged on London’s bustling thoroughfares offers insight into the dark underworld of the city. Children’s chapbooks, street cries, slang dictionaries and ballads were all part of a vibrant culture of street literature. This collection, drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, will be of interest to 19th century scholars researching: working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’, prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police and criminality.

Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Searchable digitized collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913 and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts between 1676 and 1772. Access to over 197,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 2,500 men and women executed at Tyburn. Includes digital images of all 190,000 original pages of the Proceedings, 4,000 pages of Ordinary's Accounts, information on the historical and legal background to the Old Bailey court and its Proceedings, and descriptions of published and manuscript materials relating to the trials covered. Contemporary maps and images have also been provided.

This resource contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, and shows how interconnected these worlds were. Modules cover spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; music hall, theatre and popular entertainment; and moving pictures, optical entertainments and the advent of cinema.

Provides full-text of works by British women writers of the 19th century including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century through to the early 21st.

British parliamentary documents, including Command Papers. All areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy. Searchable full-text, with detailed subject indexing.

For more information, see the ProQuest U.K. Parliamentary Papers Research Guide.