Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Researching Kentucky, 1900-present: UK Digital Collections, Archival Materials, & Oral Histories

A guide to researching topics in Kentucky history 1900-present

Digital Collections, Archival Materials, & Oral Histories

How Do I Find Archives Collections?

 

Archives collections are the unpublished items created by or given to a person, family, or organization and kept for their historical value. Use SCRC's digital archive, ExploreUK, to find archives collections from SCRC. Enter a topic below to get started!

 
 

 

 

Selected Collections

How Do I Find Oral Histories?

 
Use Spoke, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History collection catalog, to find, listen to, and request copies of oral histories from the SCRC.  You can follow links to interviews or projects that are available online or request interviews that are not yet online via your research services account.
 
 

 

Selected Oral Histories

Digital Exhibits

Accessing Research Materials from SCRC

Because of the rare and unique nature of the items in the Special Collections Research Center, they may only be used in person in the Breckinridge Research Room, located in the Margaret I. King Library on the University of Kentucky's campus. If you cannot visit in person, our research team will scan and send digital copies of special collections materials to you, up to 250 pages, free of charge. 

All researchers who wish to visit the Breckinridge Research Room or place orders for digital scans must do so through SCRC's Research Services Account, available to anyone regardless of their affiliation to the University of Kentucky. Information on registering, requesting items, or visiting the Breckinridge Research room can be found at the links below.