Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maps: Introduction

A guide to map resources found at UK Libraries and online.

About the Gwen Curtis Map Collection

The Gwen Curtis Map Collection is currently open Mondays and Thursdays from 8:00 - noon. Prior to visiting the collection, please call or email Sarah Watson to confirm availability: 859-257-8359 or sarahwatson@uky.edu. Alternatively, you can book an appointment here

Please note that our large-format scanner is being repaired, so maps cannot be scanned in their entirety. Partial scans can still be made with our 11x17" flatbed scanner. Or photos may be taken with camera, phone, etc.


In 2018, the collection was named in honor of Gwen Curtis, who worked with the maps for 45 years. During her tenure, the Map Collection grew to become the largest research map collection in Kentucky.

Overview of Materials

The Map Collection includes approximately 250,000 paper maps and aerial photos. Below are examples of the types of cartographic materials found in the collection. Additionally, many of the materials are indexed in InfoKat Discovery.

- Aerial photos of Kentucky counties

- Current and historic Kentucky city, county, and state maps

- Sanborn fire insurance maps of Kentucky cities

- Digital images of historic Kentucky maps

- Topographic maps of all 50 states

- U.S. and international geologic maps

- International topographic maps, mostly WWII era

- U.S. and international nautical charts

Maps & Geospatial Services Manager

Profile Photo
Sarah Watson
she/her
Contact:
Science & Engineering Library
859-257-8359
Subjects: Geography & Maps