- Evernote BasicTake notes anywhere. Find information faster. Share ideas with anyone. Available on Desktops, iOS, and Android devices.
- GoodNotesGoodNotes transforms your iPad into digital paper. It's a single place for all your handwritten notes and annotated PDFs. GoodNotes is available for purchase on Apple App Store.
- Microsoft OneNoteMicrosoft Office OneNote is a digital notebook that provides a flexible way to gather notes and information, powerful search capabilities so users can find what they are looking for quickly. Available for download at UK Downloads.
- NotabilityUse a wide range of note-taking and sketching tools to capture every detail. You can even add and annotate PDFs in Notability. Notability is available for purchase on Apple App Store.
Flashcards
- AnkiAnki is a free and open-source flashcard program which makes remembering things easy.
- MedSchool + Anki (Zanki)The intent of this website is to serve as an orientation and guide to using Anki in med school.
- BrainscapeBrainscape is a web and mobile education platform that allows students to study adaptive flashcards.
- Flashcards (AccessMedicine)AccessMedicine offers online flashcards to supplement your studies and is provided to all UK medical students for free. You will need to create an AccessMedicine Account before accessing flashcards.
- Review Questions from AccessMedicineGenerate multiple-choice quizzes from Basic Sciences and Clinical Practice e-books. This resource is available for free to all UK medical students.
- QuizletSearch millions of study sets or create your own.
Setting up Your Access Medicine Profile
UK Officer of Medical Education:
Dr. Michelle Lineberry
Assistant Dean for Students and Academic Success
- Genius ScanGenius Scan is a free app (with a Premium option) that allows you to scan using your phone or tablet. You can save scans as PDFs and send via email or save to the cloud. App is available for iOS and Android.
- Radiology 2.0Radiology 2.0 aims to help learners read CT scans. Available for iOS devices.
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach by ISBN: 9780323680424Publication Date: 2022
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, 15th edition by Publication Date: 2018
- Case Files: Basic Sciences (Access Medicine)This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
- Case Files: Clinical Medicine (Access Medicine)This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
- Khan Academy: Health and MedicineKhan Academy provides free training modules on anatomy & physiology, financing and organization in healthcare, and all organ systems.
- University of Michigan Practice QuestionsThis page is maintained by Dr. Kathleen Alsup and Dr. Glenn Fox. Materials from these pages may be used for educational purposes with credit and notification to authors. The content of this site is intended for educational purposes only and is not to be taken as medical or dental advice.
Study Materials & Question Banks
- First Aid for USMLEFirst Aid for USMLE provides exam prep books for Step 1, Step 2 CK, Step 2 CS, and Step 3.
- UWorldUWorld provides question banks for USMLE Step 1, Step 2, and Step 3.
Study Resources & Platforms
(often includes question banks)
- Board Vitals for Medical StudentsBoardVitals provides comprehensive preparation for national exams and shelf exams. Find question banks, detailed explanations, and online on-demand access to study tools.
- Draw It to Know ItDraw It to Know It provides an active learning approach to anatomy, biochemistry, biology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, and physiology. This resource provides drawings, quizzes, exams, and flashcards.
- OsmosisBuilt around evidence-based learning science research, the comprehensive Osmosis Resource Library covers over 3,000 medical topics and includes more than 1,200 videos and over 27,000 board-style questions and flashcards.
- PathomaPathoma has free and pro versions. The pro version provides mobile access.
- Sketchy MedicalHarness the power of visual learning to ace the wards, medicine shelf, and USMLE Step 2.
- Avoid simply “transferring information”:
- Excessive note taking, rewriting notes, rewriting slides. These all seem like study strategies when in actuality you are simply transferring information from one place to another. This is not actively engaging with the material.
- Use charts to make connections:
- Making charts and tables is a useful way to compare and contrast information. It allows you to see how things are similar or related, but also how they are different. This is a critical skill when it comes to differential diagnosis, and charts can make that process easier.
- Use questions to test yourself, but also to go beyond the surface material:
- Do not wait until the weekend before an exam to start doing questions. The more exposure you have the better prepared you will be on exam day.
- Change the question and answers to get the most out of them. Know why the right answer is right, but also why the wrong answers are wrong. How can you change the question to make each of the wrong answers correct?
- Write your own questions/vignettes along with the answers. This is the ultimate in knowledge acquisition and engagement. If you can write your own question along with answers, you will have a much better grasp of the material.
- Used Spaced Repetition to actually learn the material:
- Spaced Repetition is the most effective way to learn the material, and to be able to recall the material long after the test.
- Spaced Repetition means that, prior to test day you will have seen the same material multiple times, with concepts you don’t know as well coming up more often while concepts you know very well come up much less often.
- Try to think about the material clinically:
- How would a patient with this condition present? This extends from Anatomy through Residency.
- Thinking clinically better prepares you to do your differential diagnosis as well as answer questions on a test or STEP.