Research Guides: College of Nursing Library Resources: UK Healthcare

Library Resources & Services

Resources for Nurses

Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete
Best Bet
Provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available, plus the full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL
ClinicalKey Nursing
Best Bet
ClinicalKey for Nursing offers evidence-based content adapted to a nurse’s workflow, schedule and needs, with features designed to support better decisions at the point of care. NOTE: Requires registration/login with a UKY email address to download PDFs of books and/or book chapters.
PubMed (University of Kentucky)
Best Bet Featured
Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
BioDigital Human
Best Bet
BioDigital Human is an interactive 3D software platform for visualizing anatomy, disease, and treatment. To access, click "Links" in the blue toolbar at top and select BioDigital from that list. You can also find more information about setting up your BioDigital Human Account.
AccessMedicine
Provides access to current medical textbooks, images, drug information, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
AgeLine
Indexing of literature focusing on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Includes social gerontology and aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
AORN eGuidelines+ New
AORN eGuidelines+ is a collection of evidence-based perioperative guidelines for the perioperative RN. Each AORN guideline includes recommendations intended to be achievable and to represent what is believed to be an optimal level of perioperative patient care and workplace safety. Each guideline contains recommendations that are broad statements to be used to guide the development of policies, procedures, and criteria for measuring individual competency in a variety of practice settings where operative and other invasive procedures are performed.
BoardVitals
BoardVitals offers review questions and explanations for the exams for AANP Family Nurse Practitioner, AACN Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP, ANCC Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP, ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP, NAPLEX, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner-Acute Care, Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, and Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. A free personal account must be created to use this product. A current UK email address (one ending in.uky.edu) must be used in setting up an account.
ClinicalKey
A point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and other healthcare professionals. It provides access to a unique combination of medical reference books, medical journals, drug information, and practice guidelines. NOTE: ClinicalKey requires registration/login with a UKY email address to download PDFs of books and/or book chapters.
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases containing independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes full-text PDF versions of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for both complete reviews and protocols.
Consumer Health Complete
Focused on patient information needs. Covers health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
DITKI
DITKI, (formerly Draw it to Know it) was created by Dr. Adam Fisch, a practicing neurologist who developed the deep learning methodology as a resident as a way to master vast amounts of medical science. UK has access to USMLE/COMLEX Step 1 and A&P for Nurses.
DSM-5 (PsychiatryOnline)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is the guidebook used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracting access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full-text. Subject coverage includes: adult education, elementary education, higher education, home schooling, secondary education, special needs education, teacher education.
Embase
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database that enables tracking and retrieval of drug information in the published literature.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, codes schemes/manuals, rating scales, and tests) in health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness,Prevention, and Vegetarian Times.
healthfinder
This consumer-oriented site has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.
Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body from Ovid)
3D interactive anatomy visualization and education tool with thousands of interactive anatomical structures.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide New
The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide is a comprehensive web and mobile resource that delivers up-to-date, authoritative information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens written by the experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE produces and provides science videos aimed at improving scientific research.
Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp)
An online clinical database that includes drug information, interactions, drug identification, calculators, drug comparisons, IV compatibility, patient education, formulary service, and toxicology information. NOTE: Access on campus restricted to computers located within the UK Medical Center. Off campus VPN access restricted to University of Kentucky College Medical Center faculty, students, and staff.
LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences
Access to textbooks on core medical science topics, including anatomy, microbiology, pathology, physiology, and more
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the consumer health website produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to high quality and authoritative information on diseases, drugs, clinical trials, and other consumer health topics.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Please note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
PsychiatryOnline and Psychiatry Legacy Collection
Online portal featuring the publication of the American Psychiatric Association including the DSM-5, electronic textbooks, APA guidelines, and access to the American Psychiatric Association journals from their inception.
PsycINFO
Provides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books, and dissertations in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
PubMed (NLM)
Provides free access to the National Library of Medicine (NLM)'s database of indexed citations, MEDLINE. Along with MEDLINE, PubMed also provides access to PubMedCentral, NCBI Bookshelf, OLDMEDLINE (Pre-1966 citations), and In-Process Citations.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences.
Science Citation Index Expanded
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 8,600 scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. This index is part of Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
Sigma Repository
Repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses. It is an open-access digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International (Sigma).
TDS Health
Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools for clinicians. NOTE: Maximum number of simultaneous users is 7.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
Attempt to bring together 'evidence-based' healthcare resources available on the Internet. It contains nearly 29,000 links from approximately 75 sources. The citations are obtained from peer-reviewed journals and 'eTextbooks.'
UpToDate
Clinical resource specifically created to assist with diagnosis and treatment. UpToDate is accessible on and off-campus. It is also available for clinicians via the electronic medical record system. To setup on a mobile devices visit the Accounts to Setup.
Web of Science Core Collection
Featured
Web of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.

Drug Information

Highlighted E-Books

Patient Education

Nurse Residency

Evidence-Based or Quality Improvement Project Assistance

Search for literature

For best results, try to identify search terms for major concepts of your research question, such as terms to describe the patient or problem, the intervention, and the outcome.
When the search results appear, quickly scan titles. Read abstracts of most relevant citations. Link to other articles using “similar articles” link to the right of the PubMed abstract.
If search results do not provide the expected information, search again using other terms. Please ask for help if you want assistance with your search.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation.
PubMed (University of Kentucky)

PICO and formulating your search

Use PICO(T) to develop your question and identify keywords to search.

You must have at least three concepts to develop an effective search. Most likely you may not have a comparison to your intervention.

PICO(T) stands for:

Population/ Patient Problem: Who is your patient? What is your population? What is the problem?
Intervention: What are doing for the patient? What therapy? Treatment?
Comparison: Are you looking at an alternative for your intervention? You may or may not have a comparison in your PICO
Outcome: What outcome are you working towards? Length of stay? Patient satisfaction?
*Time: The time frame of interest. Five years? Ten days? Only include if time is relevant to your question.

What is the effectiveness of early ambulation, compared to bed rest on decreasing post-op DVTs adult patients.

P - Population/problem/patient
I - Intervention
C - Comparison
O - Outcome

Quality Improvement

Quality Improvement Resources:

Institute for Healthcare Improvement
IHI focuses on motivating and building the will for change; identifying and testing new models of care in partnership with both patients and health care professionals; and ensuring the broadest possible adoption of best practices and effective innovations.

Critical Appraisal Tools

Quality Improvement Search Terms

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) below can be used in PubMed and adapted for use in other database such as CINAHL.

Quality Assurance, Health Care[MeSH]
Quality Control[MeSH]
Quality Improvement[MeSH]
Quality Indicators, Health Care[MeSH]
Quality of Health Care[MeSH]
Total Quality Management[MeSH]
Delivery of Health Care[MeSH]
Health Plan Implementation[MeSH]

Patient Safety Search Terms

The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) below can be used in PubMed and adapted for use in other database such as CINAHL.

Accident Prevention[MeSH]
Medical Errors[MeSH]
Patient Safety[MeSH]
Checklist[MeSH]
Disclosure[MeSH]
Truth Disclosure[MeSH]
Liability[MeSH]
Malpractice[MeSH]
Safety Management[MeSH]
Risk Management[MeSH]

Highlighted Resource

Medical Center Library Calendar

Ask a Medical Librarian

Annabelle Holt

she/her

Contact:

mclib@uky.edu
annabelle.holt@uky.edu
M72N Willard Medical Education Building

(859) 323-6568

College of Nursing Library Resources: UK Healthcare