Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Collection in the Special Collections Research Center: Home

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS RESEARCH CENTER

Find Collections

pertaining to

the

African American Experience 

 

 CONTACT:

Phone: (859) 257-1742

Fax:  (859) 257-6311

Make An Appointment

Margaret I. King Library Building (directions)

‚Äč

Many collections are stored off-site. A phone call or an email prior to your visit will help us to better assist you.

The Collection

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection was started in the 1960s and is an amalgamation of collections from several different collectors, the most prominent of whom was Dr. John Scarborough, a University of Kentucky history professor.

New titles that are rare or unique are occasionally added to the collection. The holdings include books and periodicals dating from the 18th Century up to the present year.

The titles do not circulate and can not be borrowed via interlibrary loan. All science fiction and fantasy materials must be used in the University of Kentucky Special Collections Research Center Breckinridge Reading Room.

Assistance and background information from retired archivist William J. "Bill" Marshall and Dr. James Birchfield, Curator of Rare Books Emeritus.

The Voyage of the Space Beagle by A. E. van Vogt

Librarian

Profile Photo
Reinette F. Jones
Contact:
Rm 403, King Library Building

Lexington, Kentucky 40506-0456

(859) 257-6042