Television

The Ultimate Daily Show and Philosophy is revised, expanded, and updated to probe deeper than ever before the philosophical significance of the quintessential "fake" news show of the 21st century. Features significant revisions and updates from the first 2007 edition. Reveals why and how The Daily Show is philosophically engaging and significant withtough and surprisingly funny questions about politics, religion, and power.

The Ultimate South Park and Philosophy: Respect My Philosophah presents a compilation of serious philosophical reflections on the twisted insights voiced by characters in TV's most irreverent animated series. Draws sharp parallels between the irreverent nature of "South Park" and the inquiring and skeptical approach of Western philosophy by going beyond the surface of the show's scatological humor to address the perennial questions raised in "South Park" and contemporary social and political issues. Uses familiar characters and episodes to illustrate philosophical topics like moral relativism, gay marriage, blasphemy, democracy, feminism, animal ethics, and existential questions.

Informed by historical scholarship and media analysis, this book takes a critical look at this award-winning show from a wide range of perspectives. While the series may be critized as "idealistic, " its clever techniques of camera work, lighting, and editing, reflect America's best image of itself, and entertains a loyal audience that desperately wants to believe in the nobility of the American dream. This collection introduces readers to the sensibilities to appreciate the show's nuances and the necessary knowledge to avoid any misreadings.

Encyclopedia of Television Film Directors brings attention to the directors of these productions, citing every director of stand alone long-form television programs: made for TV movies, movie-length pilots, mini-series, and feature-length anthology programs, as well as drama, comedy, and musical specials of more than 60 minutes. A much-needed reference that celebrates these often-neglected artists, Encyclopedia of Television Film Directors is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in the history of the medium.

Before the Internet and the rise of scholarship on popular culture, Vincent Terrace built his reputation as one of the leading researchers in television reference. This work represents decades of research and spans the entire history of television. While documentation regarding cast and personnel is now often found online, descriptions of the shows from authoritative sources are still not widely available. Terrace fills that gap with this work, which covers more than 9,350 shows (including pilots!) and constitutes the most comprehensive documentation of television series ever published. All the traditional genres are here along with show genres not well covered elsewhere--including children's programming, talk and advice shows, game shows, opera, stage plays, women's programming, dance, documentary television, and more.

Includes dates, summaries, cast lists, and information on theme songs and producers, for proposed and actual series of all types.

The second of two volumes which, when taken together, provide a comprehensive overview of network television news documentary, news magazine and special news programming broadcast over ABC, CBS, and NBC from the 1950s through the 1980s.

Rose presents a comprehensive historical explanation of the related changes in television and in the four performing arts. . . . Highly recommended for both culture students and enthusiasts of the performing arts. Library Journal

This work presents more than 400 A–Z entries on the individuals, programs, media innovations, and broad topics that tell the story of women's involvement both in front of and behind the television camera. * A–Z entries range from Gracie Allen and Ally McBeal to talk shows and soap operas * Includes cross references, a bibliography, helpful appendixes, and a subject index * Delightfully illustrated

Superheroes and characters who fight crime by extraordinary means have populated the television airwaves from the beginning. This broad-ranging reference contains a trove of information on shows featuring such characters as Superman and Black Scorpion to programs like The A-Team and Knight Rider. Alphabetical entries on 125 network, cable and syndicated series broadcast from 1949 to 2001, plus 26 pilot films, deliver information about story premises, characters, and myriad elements that add flavor and interest to the shows, as well as cast listings and broadcast data.

Based on the largest, most representative sample of television content ever evaluated in a single research project, this volume offers a meaningful commentary on the issue of violence on television in the United States. The book includes: a content analysis of violence in television series, films, and music videos; research on violence in documentary and current affairs programmes; studies of how ratings and content advisories are being used on television and the role they play in the viewing decisions of children; and the effectiveness of anti-violence public service announcements presented by the television industry.

On The Andy Griffith Show, deputy Barney Fife's duties included fly swatting and changing the jail's pillowcases. As a kid, Mike Brady of The Brady Bunch was the checkers champion of Chestnut Street. Rob and Laura Petrie's doorbell on The Dick Van Dyke Show rang in the keys of E and G flat minor. Blair Warner was given a blue ribbon for being named Most Naturally Blonde at Eastland School on The Facts of Life. Whether it's called trivia, nostalgia, or useless information, over 9,700 facts from 168 television series broadcast from 1948 through 1984 on ABC, NBC, and CBS and in syndication can be found in this work. It covers the popular, well-known series but also the lesser-known series that were a part of television's earlier days.