Women in African History: Articles

The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users.

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.

Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

News research and press clipping service that retrospectively covers mainstream publications in South Africa, from 1978 to present day. Since much reporting on Africa is done in South Africa, these newspapers provide coverage of a range of issues facing countries throughout the entire African continent.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1994. These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.

Over 60,000 manuscripts and documents covering the reach of the British Empire, all the way to Australasia, South Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Also includes references to biographies and chronologies.

Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

From ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.