Welcome BIO 155 Students!
This guide will help you with lab reports and provide basic information on how to find and use information effectively, including:
- Databases covered in class
- Ways to find background information
- Research tips
- Appropriate citation format for your lab reports
- Plagiarism policies and tutorials
Please feel free to contact the libraries if you have any questions. Good luck this semester!
Library Databases Used in Class
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is the main database you will use when searching for articles in this class. It contains links to >12 million journals and >46 million records. - InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the UK Libraries' catalog of books, journals, journal articles, and other resources.
More Science Resources
- Agricola Citations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, theses, patents, software, and technical reports. Coverage is worldwide. In addition, the database includes subfiles of citations from the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC).
- This link opens in a new window
- BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, including botany, zoology, and ecology. Includes content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters.
- This link opens in a new window
- CAB Abstracts (CABI) with Full Text Agricultural and applied life sciences journals, books, proceedings, monographs, and technical reports, with emphasis on agronomy, forestry, public health, environmental issues, and the management of natural resources. Particular attention is paid to the needs of developing countries. Among specific subjects covered: animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, biofuels, bioterrorism, leisure tourism, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, and rural development.
- This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Allows you to search across many disciplines and sources for articles, theses, books, and more from academic publishers, professional societies, universities, and other websites. This is NOT specific to Biology. See instructions for setting up Google Scholar to access additional online fulltext available to UK users.
- This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO More than 4 million bibliographic records centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed (NLM) Comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- This link opens in a new window
