UK Collections
-
BrowZine Provides access to the scholarly journal content available through the University of Kentucky Libraries, providing an easy and familiar way to browse, read, save and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.
-
InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog Advanced Search Search the full InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog combining terms in different fields (e.g., title, subject, date, language).
Welcome!
This guide is intended to help with locating published research scholarship in the field of biology. The majority of the print collection is housed at the William T. Young Library. The Science & Engineering Library and the Medical Center Library also house information for biological research. Below are links to several databases relevant to the field when searching for articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. The Finding Resources tab assists with locating journals, books, dissertations and other library resources.
For further assistance with any of these tools, tailored research help, or EndNote training, feel free to contact me by email at vperry@uky.edu or the STEM Library Team. Recommendations of resources that should be added to this guide are appreciated.
Research Databases
This is a small selection of the databases available through UK Libraries.
-
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
-
Agricola Citations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
-
BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). To access this resource, select it from the drop down menu at the top of the search box.
-
CAB Abstracts (CABI) with Full Text Agricultural and applied life sciences journals, books, proceedings, monographs, and technical reports, with emphasis on agronomy, forestry, public health, environmental issues, and the management of natural resources.
-
National Center for Biotechnology Information The National Center for Biotechnology Information includes a variety of databases covering biology, biomedicine, genomes, homology, and taxonomy.
-
PubMed (University of Kentucky) Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
-
Scopus Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
-
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Indexes the literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, eco-tourism, zoology, taxonomy.
Additional Databases
-
Current Protocols (CP) Full-text of manuals containing standards for scientific, lab-tested research and experimentation methods.
-
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
-
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments JoVE produces and provides science videos aimed at improving scientific research.
-
JoVE Education This is a part of JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) and offers video resources to help learn and review fundamental techniques in science, medicine and engineering.
-
JSTOR Global Plants Global Plants consists of 66 sub-collections, showcasing hand-selected specimens that have been digitized by partner herbaria. This resource also features partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, illustrations, and photographs.
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
-
Off-Campus AccessCurrent UK students, faculty, voluntary faculty, and staff can use their linkblue login to access UK Libraries’ electronic resources from off campus.
STEM Librarian
Research Guides for the Sciences
See a list of all research guides.