Music Scores Online

ASCIMA at the University of Birmingham contains critical editions of seventeenth-century Italian madrigals and arias, together with introductions to the editions in Italian, German and English, and translations of the texts into English and German.

Access to over 160,000 pages of medieval manuscripts from 15 Philadelphia-area libraries. Includes antiphonairies, graduals, missals, and processionals.

Searchable catalogue of 12th- and 13th-century Latin conductus (liturgical poems not based on preexisting chants and set to music for one, two, or three voices). Links to manuscript images are given when available.

The Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music provides access to collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts (the resource does not include plainchant). The music and the manuscripts date from approx. 800 to 1550.

Ongoing project to digitize and make available in one place the vast collections of the Bodleian Libraries.

DS is a consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.

Early Music Online contains about half of the British Library's holdings of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, as listed in RISM B/I (Recueils imprimés XVI-XVII siécles). These volumes contain approximately 10,000 musical compositions, which have been individually indexed. The volumes mainly consist of partbooks of vocal polyphony, but also include some early printed tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. They include music printed in Italy, Germany, France, and England.
Or link to EMO at the British Library where you can apply composer, date, language, publisher, and genre filters.

Founded in 2010 at Stanford University, JRP originally sought to digitize all works attributed to Josquin to promote comparative analysis for attribution. The database has expanded to cover other composers' (Binchois, Du Fay, Ockeghem, etc.) and anonymous works.

Measuring Polyphony presents digitizatons of polyphonic compositions copied in 13th- and 14th-century manuscripts in mensural notation and linked directly, when available, to high-resolution images of the original manuscripts and MIDI audio files.

Houghton Library's digitized collection of medieval and renaissance manuscripts contains primary sources for literature, arts, history, music, philosophy, and theology.

MMMO (Medieval Music Manuscripts Online Database) is an international virtual library of music sources of the medieval period up to 1600.

WLSCM is sponsored by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, making available a growing catalogue of music in modern editions for scholars, performers, and students.

The acquisition of medieval liturgical chant manuscripts that trace the history of music notation as it evolved over half a millennium, became a major collection priority in the Music Division beginning in the 1920s. Chronologically, these rare primary sources span a period of great paleographical change from the tenth through seventeenth centuries. These materials range in format and size from single leaves to entire books – both pocket-sized and immense choirbooks measuring over three feet tall.

Provides access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).

Sub-set of e-codices of liturgical manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall, Switzerland.

The goal of e-codices is to provide free access to all medieval and a selection of modern manuscripts of Switzerland. Currently the site contains 2,214 manuscripts from 88 collections.

PEM provides access to a large number of manuscripts with musical notation written before c. 1650 preserved in libraries and archives in Portugal and surrounding Spanish locations.

Internet Culturale's site ReMI contains links to libraries in Italy with digitized music collections.

The seven manuscripts of the Trent Codices form the largest and most important collecton from the 15th century. Composers include: Binchois, Busnoys, DuFay, Dunstaple, Ockeghem, Power, and others.