Music Scores Online

AVMM contains images of over 300 music manuscripts of song and tunebooks, sheet music, and commonplace books.

5th ed. 1909

From 1949 to 1951, folklorist MacEdward Leach recorded almost 700 songs performed by singers from settler folk music traditions on the island of Newfoundland and in Gaelic-speaking areas of Nova Scotia.

The Garden of Musical delights covers 750 years of traditional music in Flanders and Netherlands. Includes scans of the original manuscripts, PDF, Word, MusicXML, MYR, and MP3 files.

Folk tunes from Manx collected by W.H. Gill, J.F. Gill, and J. Clague are available in ABC or PDF format.

The Ozark Folksong Collection, originally recorded and compiled between 1949 and 1965, is the largest and most complete collection of traditional music and associated materials from Arkansas and the Ozarks in the nation.

Digital collection of Irish traditional tunes and songs collected by master fiddle player Séamus Connolly.

Broadside Ballads Online presents a digital collection of English printed ballad-sheets from between the 16th and 20th centuries, linked to other resources for the study of the English ballad tradition.

Collection of 2,300 broadside ballads, mostly printed in England in the 19th century.

Over 9,117 broadside ballads of the 17th century.

First (1819) and Second (1821) series, collected and illustrated by James Hogg.

The primary focus of Goldstein's collection of British broadsides is the early 19th century.

MTSU's Center for Popular Music houses the Goldstein Collection of American Song Broadsides, which contains over 3,000 items, primarily published between 1840 and 1880.

Digital images of broadsides from the collections of Frank Kidson, Cecil Sharp, Ralph Vaughan Williams, and WVML's Street Literature Collection.

Welsh Ballads Online includes about 4,000 digitised ballads, mainly dating from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, from the collections of the National Library of Wales and Cardiff University Library.

Online collection of nearly 1,800 broadsides lets you see for yourself what 'the word on the street' was in Scotland between 1650 and 1910. Each broadside comes with a detailed commentary and most also have a full transcription of the text, plus a downloadable PDF facsimile.

... Being a Collection of all the Celebrated Scotch Country Dances now in Vogue, with proper Directons to each Dance ... (London: printed for and sold by I. Walsh, 1750)

...as Perform'd at the King's Theatre in the Hay Market (London: Printed for I. Walsh, 1743)

...(Full of the Highland Humours) for the Violin: Being the First of this Kind yet Printed. (London: Printed by William Pearson ... for Henry Playford, 1700).

...Gathered from Scarce Printed Collections, and from manuscripts / collected and edited by Frank Kidson (London: William Reeves, 1890)

A compilation and index of all eighteen editions of the first volume of Playford's Dancing Master, 1651-1728. Includes transcriptions of melodies; dance instructions; scans of original texts.

Find folk tunes by melody, time, key, mode, melody shape, and similar tunes.