Select Databases
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-text journal back-file collection. Covers scholarly journals in many academic disciplines. Features digitized copies of original issues as they were designed, illustrated and printed. Some of the journal issues date back to the 1800s. However, as an archive, JSTOR does not contain the latest published materials. The latest article in a JSTOR title might be 3-5 years old. - Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). The database provides annotated bibliographic entries from 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes, abstracts and provides significant full text to articles from journals, magazines, newspapers. - International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the journal literature covering the European middle ages (c. 300-1500).
Please note: Limited to three simultaneous users.
Beginning Your Research with InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
Finding Biographical Information
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes Contemporary Authors and Who's Who. - Biography Reference Bank
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies from Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated and many periodicals covered in Biography Index, including full-text articles, page images, and abstracts (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images. - Contemporary Authors
- This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, addresses, career history, writings, work in progress, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and essays about their lives and work.
- Biographical Information Research Guide
Check out this research guide for additional resources for biographical information.
You can also find biographical information in the obituaries for authors that have passed away. Look for these in the newspaper databases below. While searching, always include the author's name in quotation marks. For example, "Lauren Farmer."
- London Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
- This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to "Obituaries"
Center for Research Libraries
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)
This link opens in a new window
-CRL is a resource available to UK students via Interlibrary Loan.
-Includes collections of newspapers, journals, books, microforms, dissertations, archives, government publications, etc.
-The loan period is unlimited, but materials may be subject to recall after a certain period should a scholar at another CRL institution request said materials.
