Research Guides
UK Libraries has a number of research guides to help you find information on China. You will find a few of our general guides listed below.
- CountriesProvides access to resources that give general information on countries.
- Foreign AffairsIncludes information on U.S. relations with other countries.
- GlobalizationIncludes basic government information, statistical data and much more.
- International ResourcesResearch Guide to finding information in the international literature.
Other Useful Resources
Location of UK Libraries on Campus
Introduction to Searching for Information on China
China is a large, complex country and no one reference source can cover all aspects of China. This guide is intended to be a starting point on all aspects of China, including Taiwan and Hong Kong. It is divided into broad areas: each page provides you with a few sources for finding general information. It also gives you additional research guides as well as the names and contact information of subject specialists available to you in the UK Libraries to help you with any area of research dealing with China. We hope you find this guide helpful and that you will avail yourself of the extensive resources available to you through UK Libraries.
Additional Sources for General Information
The sources listed below provide scholarly information on a variety of subjects.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Includes an Image Collection. - London Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
- This link opens in a new window
Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Contains non-English full-text news sources from around the world, including non-English major newspapers, magazines and trade publications that are relied upon for "accuracy and integrity of their reporting." - New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Final New York City Edition. Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles. - New York Times Historical Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text from with keyword searching and date limiting. Coverage from 1851, excluding the most recent three years.
- Newspapers from ChinaNewspapers in both English and Chinese from various provinces in China.
- PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. Covers 1915-present.
International Programs
Related Organizations
- Year of China: awaken the past, discover the futureProvides information on UK College of Arts and Sciences' Year of China. Includes information about opportunities, activities, and events.
- Asia SocietyGlobal non-profit organization dedicated to forging closer ties between Asia and the West through arts, education, policy and business outreach.