Database notes
MathSciNet, the database of Mathematical Reviews, contains indexing and reviews back to 1940. Zentralblatt für Mathematik, the German publication, was the premier mathematics resource at the time, but the American Mathematical Society began publishing Mathematical Reviews in response to WWII and Zentralblatt's censorship of Jewish mathematicians. MathSciNet is preferred by American mathematicians while European mathematicians prefer ZBMath. There is a great deal of overlap in coverage, but ZBMath covers sources that MathSciNet does not. The Jahrbuch is the German publication preceding Zentralblatt, and knowledge of the German language is necessary for use of the Jahbuch and for early years of publication for Zentralblatt. In recent decades, Zentralblatt has been published in English. The SPIN database will be useful for mathematical physics. Mathematical statistics is covered by both MathSciNet and ZBMath.
Databases
- MathSciNetCovers worldwide mathematical literature by providing bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. Includes indexing for journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research. Approximately 1800 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
- Zentralblatt MATHThe ZBMATH Database contains more than 3 million entries drawn from about 3500 journals and 1100 serials from 1826 to present.
- ScitationDatabase of physical science resources covering physics, astronomy, and related fields of science and technology. Provides indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. Includes Advance Abstracts for AIP journals and links to Physical Review journals before the articles are published.
- Jahrbuch Project: Electronic Research Archive for MathematicsThe Electronic Research Archive results from a project supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). It consists of two parts:
A literature database based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942) and an archive of digitised mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen.
Both parts are connected with links. - JSTOR (includes description)Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals Database.
Library Liaison |
Contact Info 859.257.8343 Science Library, Room 309B My scholarship has been in workplace mobbing, people with disabilities, and in resource depletion (emphasis on energy depletion) and how this will affect the future of libraries. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
