Mathematics

With over 4,000 entries, this informative A to Z provides clear, jargon-free definitions on a wide variety of mathematical terms. Its entries cover both pure and applied mathematics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology.For this sixth edition, around 800 new terms have been defined, expanding on the dictionary's coverage of topics such as algebra, differential geometry, algebraic geometry, representation theory, and statistics. Among this new material are articles such as cardinal arithmetic, first fundamentalform, Lagrange's theorem, Navier-Stokes equations, potential, and splitting field. The existing entries have also been revised and updated to account for developments in the field.Numerous supplementary features complement the text, including detailed appendices on basic algebra, areas and volumes, trigonometric formulae, and Roman numerals. Newly added to these sections is a historical timeline of significant mathematicians lives and the emergence of key theorems. There arealso illustrations, graphs, and charts throughout the text, as well as useful web links to provide access to further reading.

Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia designed for high school through early college students. More than 1,000 entries, more than 125 photographs and illustrations, and numerous essays cover the principal areas and issues that characterize this ""new"" area of science. This valuable resource unites disparate ideas and provides the meaning, history, context, and relevance behind each one. The easy-to-use format makes finding straightforward and natural answers to questions within arithmetic - such as algebra, trigonometry, geometry, probability, combinatorics, numbers, logic, calculus, and statistics - simple. Encyclopedia of Mathematics also gives historical context to mathematical concepts, with entries discussing ancient Arabic, Babylonian, Chinese, Egyptian, Greek, Hindu, and Mayan mathematics, as well as entries providing biographical descriptions of important people in the development of mathematics.

EACM is a comprehensive reference work covering the vast field of applied and computational mathematics. Applied mathematics itself accounts for at least 60 per cent of mathematics, and the emphasis on computation reflects the current and constantly growing importance of computational methods in all areas of applications. EACM emphasizes the strong links of applied mathematics with major areas of science, such as physics, chemistry, biology, and computer science, as well as specific fields like atmospheric ocean science. In addition, the mathematical input to modern engineering and technology form another core component of EACM.

Contains the fundamental working knowledge of mathematics which is needed as an everyday guide for working scientists and engineers, as well as for students.

Intended for students of mathematics as well as of engineering, physical science, economics, business studies, and computer science, this handbook contains vital information and formulas for algebra, geometry, calculus, numerical methods, and statistics. Comprehensive tables of standard derivatives and integrals, together with the tables of Laplace, Fourier, and Z transforms are included. A spiral binding that allows the handbook to lay flat for easy reference enhances the user-friendly design.