This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing  

Guide to finding resources related to Marketing.
Last Updated: May 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/mktg Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

Ask-a-Librarian

Recommend an item you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.

 

Look for other Research Guides

 

Marketing - Definition

Marketing

A short definition:

The process of planning and executing the conception, pricing, promotion, and distribution of ideas, products, and services to create exchanges that will satisfy the needs of individuals and organizations. Marketing a product involves such tasks as anticipating changes in demand (usually on the basis of market research), promotion of the product, ensuring that its quality, availability, and price meet the needs of the market, and providing after-sales service.
From:  A Dictionary of Business and Management. Ed. Jonathan Law. Oxford University Press, 2009 - Available from Oxford Reference.

New Marketing Resources at UK

New Database! Mintel Oxygen

 
We have recently added the Mintel Oxygen Database, which features than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel Oxygen every year.
 
Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information.
 
Covers the following markets:
Beauty and Personal Care Drink Finance Food Foodservice Health and Well-being Household Leisure and Entertainment Lifestyles Multicultural America Retailing and Apparel Technology Transportation Travel
 
Please note that in order to use, you must create an account using your University of Kentucky email address -- it will not work with a non-UK address.
  • Mintel Oxygen
    Note: In order to use, you must create an account using your UK email address.
 

Marketing News

Newspaper Databases:
UK Libraries currently subscribes to the following newspaper databases, all of which contain a great deal of marketing news:

Access World News
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources.  Also includes the section "Access Business News," which includes a current subscription to the Economist, among many other papers.

LexisNexis Academic
Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes a section for "Business News Publications."

Wall Street Journal
Daily newspaper provides coverage of U.S. and International financial and business news. Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest.

Other News Sources:

Internet Marketing Blog
Blog entries on topics concerning the Internet and marketing.

KnowThis.com
A "resource and reference site for those involved in marketing, market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related areas." Includes feature articles, a tutorial on writing a market plan, and links to articles.

Business and Economics Liaison

Profile Image
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact Info
W.T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840
Send Email
 

New Marketing Books


Cover Art
Manager's Guide to Marketing, Advertising, and Publicity
Call Number: HF5415 .C3553 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip