Books of Interest
The African Diaspora by Call Number: DT16.5 .M35 2009Publication Date: 2009Patrick Manning refuses to divide the African diaspora into the experiences of separate regions and nations. Instead, he follows the multiple routes that brought Africans and people of African descent into contact with one another and with Europe, Asia, and the Americas. In weaving these stories together, Manning shows how the waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Indian Ocean fueled dynamic interactions among black communities and cultures and how these patterns resembled those of a number of connected diasporas concurrently taking shape across the globe.
Let Spirit Speak! by Call Number: DT16.5 .L48 2012Publication Date: 2012Interdisciplinary celebration of the cultural contributions of members of the African Diaspora in the Western hemisphere.
African Migrations by ISBN: 0253005833Publication Date: 2013-02-18The essays cover topics such as rural-urban migration into African cities, transnational migration, and the experience of immigrants abroad, as well as the issues surrounding migrant identity and how Africans re-create community and strive to maintain ethnic, gender, national, and religious ties to their former homes.
Overview of InfoKat Discovery
Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.
Length: 2:25
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.
Books on the African Diaspora
Sacred Leaves of Candomble by Call Number: BL2592.C35 .V64 1997Publication Date: 1997Candomble, an African religious and healing tradition that spread to Brazil during the slave trade, relies heavily on the use of plants in its spiritual and medicinal practices.
Hog and Hominy by Call Number: TX715 .O548 2008Publication Date: 2008Frederick Douglass Opie deconstructs and compares the foodways of people of African descent throughout the Americas, interprets the health legacies of black culinary traditions, and explains the concept of soul itself, revealing soul food to be an amalgamation of West and Central African social and cultural influences as well as the adaptations blacks made to the conditions of slavery and freedom in the Americas.
