Gender and Sexuality in Antiquity
The study of gender and sexuality can cross many disciplines and time periods. For this guide the emphasis will be placed on pointing towards resources that examine gender and sexuality within the societies of ancient Greece and Rome. These have often been referred to the Classical World.
Modern & Classical Languages Librarian
Getting Started on your Research
- Writing CenterIndividual and group consultations for all UK students, faculty, and staff with the process of composing and communicating in writing, speaking, and multimedia projects across the curriculum.
Citing Your Sources: MLA Preferred
- MLA Handbook MLA Handbook Plus is our online MLA citation resource and includes the 9th edition of the handbook. An expanding resource, it will soon host additional material, including other MLA guides and instructor resources.
- MLA Works Cited: A Quick Guide Quick guide to works cited, with examples, an interactive practice template, and more. From MLA Style Center.
- MLA Works Cited - List Entries: Citations by Format Sample citations for various resource types. Brief webpage on MLA Quick Guide. From MLA Style Center.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL) OWL, Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, has created an online overview to help writers cite sources using MLA style, including the list of works cited and in-text citations. (Please note: There is a citation generator on this site that is not free or recommended. See the list of recommended citation generators on our guide to Style Guides and Manuals.)
- APA style & citations This ebook provides in-depth guidance on the American Psychological Association's standards on style, citations, formatting, footnotes, and more. In Wiley's For Dummies series.
- Style Guides & Manuals: Library Guide Peter Hesseldenz's comprehensive guide on style guides, style manuals, citation tools, formatting tools, and more!
Gender and Sexuality in Antiquity Resources
- Electronic Resources for ClassicistsThis page contains a list of resources for Classicists.
Below are some additional reference sources on Greek and Roman culture that may provide a starting point for more in depth explorations.
- Oxford Reference / Classical Studies reference booksReady-reference book collection. Search or browse the Classics subject. Search within a book or search the whole database of Oxford Reference.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Finding Images of Gender Roles and Sexuality
Below are some options for finding information on or images of art created within the societies of ancient Greece and Rome or depicting how those societies appeared to later generations. Images can often capture what a society values are and how they treat the roles of men and women in their societies.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online provides online full-text access to two major art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Our Oxford Art Online subscription offers access to the Grove Dictionary of Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia ("Grove Art"). It provides global coverage of visual culture from ancient to contemporary times, described in encyclopedia-style entries that are written and vetted by expert scholars.
(Please note our subscription allows 3 simultaneous users across any location. To help other researchers, please close the browser when you are finished using this database.)
- British Museum: Collection OnlineOver 900,000 images representative of the Museum's 3,500,000 objects.
Terms of Use
Resources - Databases
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- L'Annee PhilologiquePublished by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, L'Annee Philologique is a bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
Other Resources
- Modern & Classical Languages DepartmentThis links to the home page of the University of Kentucky's Department of Modern and Classical Languages, Literatures and Cultures.
- Gender & Women StudiesDescribes the gender and women studies options available at the University of Kentucky.
- Gender Studies ResearchOutlines areas in Gender and Women's Studies where MCLL are conducting research.