Identify the Major Ideas of Your Research Question
What role does agenda setting theory play in the Fox News and MSNBC reporting of political campaigns?
| Major Ideas | Related Terms | |
| agenda setting theory | ||
| news | television AND news | |
| broadcast journalism | ||
| political campaigns | political candidates | |
| political parties |
How can we use cultivation theory to analyze the relationship between aggressive behavior and violent video game playing?
| Major Ideas | Related Terms | |
| cultivation theory | ||
| aggression | psychology | |
| emotions | ||
| attitude | ||
| video games | internet games | |
| online games | ||
| virtual reality AND games |
Look for Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Your annotated bibliography must contain at least five scholarly (peer reviewed) journal articles. You can find peer reviewed journal articles in the databases listed below.
Example search terms:
agenda setting theory and internet
cultivation theory and video games
social learning theory and television
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
This link opens in a new window
Best source for scholarly articles on communication and mass media. It's a good place to begin your communication research. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles in many different subjects.
This is a great place to begin your research or add to what you've already found.
* Limit to academic (peer reviewed) sources. - PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
Premier psychology database also useful for research on behavior related to communication theories. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This database may be useful to you if your topic includes an aspect of psychology, sociology or education, - Social Sciences Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Locate scholarly articles in the social sciences. which include communications, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology.
How to Read a Citation
This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of a search result containing the View Now button within Academic Search Complete.
How to Get Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.