Primary Sources
For this class you will need to find primary sources of information. This means material that contains firsthand accounts of events that were created contemporaneously or later recalled by an eyewitness. Some examples that might apply to this assignment include newspaper articles and company press releases. Other sources that provide a contemporaneous account include company stock filings and annual reports and transcripts of government hearings.
Article Databases
The following databases allow for the broadest, most comprehensive, and most easily-accessible coverage of business topics.
- Business Source Complete
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Great source for press releases. Please note: Limited to three simultaneous users. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Great source for press releases. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
Newspapers
- E-Journals A-Z
This link opens in a new window
If you are looking for a particular newspaper, search the E-Journals A-Z list to find out if we have access to it. Be sure to check the dates to see if we have the time period you need. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. This database also has over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. - Newspaper Source
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides selected full-text for nearly 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Also contains selected full-text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, and The San Jose Mercury News. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources. - New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Read recent stories from the New York Times. Includes full text and, since May 2020, some selected images. Coverage: 1980-current - New York Times Historical Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1851-2017. Searchable full-text with keyword searching and date limiting. - Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database from ProQuest from 1984 to present. It is easier to refine a search in this database vs. searching online. - New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)
- This link opens in a new window
You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky. - Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
Company Research
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
One of the largest business databases, BSC has academic journals, trade publications, and general business magazines. A great deal of company information can be found doing a general search. Change the box to the right to "CO Company Entity" field for a more focused search. You can also search Company Profiles by clicking on the "More" button and then "Company Profiles" located on the top of the screen. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
To access comprehensive company dossiers, select "Business" under "Topics" and then "Find a Company." - EDGAR (SEC.gov)
- This link opens in a new window
SEC Filings and Forms. The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). - Mergent Archives (Corporate, Municipal and Government Manual Collections)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed collection of corporate and industry manuals.
- International Directory of Company Histories (2019 ed.)Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Industry Research
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld reports contain key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, including industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, market share and characteristics, and more. Browse by industry or search by keyword to access these comprehensive reports. - First Research Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to: Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates; Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states. - Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
More than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel every year. Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information.
Business and Economics Liaison
Jennifer Horne
She/Her
Contact:
I am here to help you with your research! Please email me your questions or make an appointment for either an in-person or Zoom consultation.
859-218-1409