EGR 599 Project Management: Primary Sources

Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Great source for press releases. Please note: Limited to three simultaneous users.

Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Great source for press releases.

Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.

If you are looking for a particular newspaper, search the E-Journals A-Z list to find out if we have access to it. Be sure to check the dates to see if we have the time period you need.

Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. This database also has over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources.

Newspaper Source provides selected full-text for nearly 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Also contains selected full-text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, and The San Jose Mercury News. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.

Read recent stories from the New York Times. Includes full text and, since May 2020, some selected images. Coverage: 1980-current

Coverage from 1851-2017. Searchable full-text with keyword searching and date limiting.

Full-text database from ProQuest from 1984 to present. It is easier to refine a search in this database vs. searching online.

You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.

EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID subscriptions or PAID ADD-ONS like Cooking, Games/crosswords, or The Athletic need to cancel their subscription by clicking here or calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account. Once the subscription is canceled, they can visit accessnyt.com, type in University of Kentucky, and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber “Already has an account " they click “Log In" (found below "Create an Account"). Input your email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.

EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscriptions can visit accessnyt.com, type in the name of the school, and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber "Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.

UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.

One of the largest business databases, BSC has academic journals, trade publications, and general business magazines. A great deal of company information can be found doing a general search. Change the box to the right to "CO Company Entity" field for a more focused search. You can also search Company Profiles by clicking on the "More" button and then "Company Profiles" located on the top of the screen.

To access comprehensive company dossiers, select "Business" under "Topics" and then "Find a Company."

SEC Filings and Forms. The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Indexed collection of corporate and industry manuals.

IBISWorld reports contain key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, including industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, market share and characteristics, and more. Browse by industry or search by keyword to access these comprehensive reports.

Provides access to: Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates; Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.