Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MD 812 Searching for Evidence: Library

Introduction to the Medical Center Library

Need help with your project? Or do you need to access a resource? We can help. The Medical Center Library provides many resources and services to medical students. We can provide assistance with searching, training on databases, access to collections, help with data management, and assistance with systematic and other reviews.

Learn more about our services on this guide and check out the introductory video!

Research Consultations

The Medical Center's librarians are always available to help you with your research projects and general questions. You can schedule a consult with the CoM Librarian (use the request a consult button below) or submit a request for literature search help (a medical librarian will be in contact to setup an appointment).

Tools

Tutorials

PubMed Basics:

Advanced PubMed Searching:

For more resources, visit the Research Workshop Series Past Recordings Page:

Library Guides

What are Library Guides?

Library Guides are pages created by your librarians to organize and share information about library resources relevant to your research and study. Research guides provide information on research support available from your librarians and direct you to helpful resources. College guides provide general information on library resources for a particular field of study, such as Medicine or Public Health. Specialty guides focus on a particular field of practice, such as Internal Medicine or Pediatrics. Course guides, such as this one, are designed to help with assignments specific to an individual course.

EndNote

About EndNote

EndNote is a software program that manages bibliographies and citations. The program would be helpful to anyone who is creating a research bibliography, manuscripts, grant proposals, term papers or other publications. It is especially helpful for managing citations for research from the University of Kentucky subscribed databases, such as MedLine, Agricola, Biological Abstracts, etc.

How do I get it?

UK students, faculty, and staff may download a free, licensed copy of EndNote from the UK Download site at http://download.uky.edu.

EndNote Logo

The following list is not comprehensive but contains major databases and vendor platforms accessible via UK Libraries.

  • Academic Search Complete
  • AGRICOLA (via EBSCOhost)
  • BIOSIS (via Web of Science)
  • CINAHL (via EBSCOhost)
  • ERIC (via EBSCOhost)
  • Google Scholar (you must double check these references. often there are misspellings or incomplete information)
  • InfoKat Discovery
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (via OvidSP)
  • PubMed (via EBSCO) (Medline)
  • PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost)
  • PubMed (Medline)
  • SciFinder Scholar
  • Web of Science Core Collection
  • WorldCat

EndNote training can be conducted at the Medical Center Library in our computer lab. Depending on the level of mastery you might desire, training may last from 1-2 hours, or multiple sessions may be scheduled. In addition, one-on-one sessions can be scheduled for troubleshooting, general introductory sessions, and other EndNote questions. Email mclib@uky.edu to schedule a class.

EndNote Virtual Workshops We recommend the Tutorial Videos linked below in lieu of in-person basic EndNote workshops. If you would like to schedule an Endnote session for your course, please fill out the instruction request form.

Clinical Evidence Made Easy

A concise and accessible introduction to understanding clinical data sources

How to Read a Paper: the Basics of Evidence Based Medicine and Healthcare

A clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare