Business and Economics Librarian
Jennifer Horne
She/Her
Contact:
I am here to help you with your research! Please email me your questions or make an appointment for either an in-person or Zoom consultation.
859-218-1409
Research Guides
Consumer Research
- Mintel Academic
More than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel every year. Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information.
- StatistaStatista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
Industry Research
- IBISWorldIBISWorld reports contain key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, including industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, market share and characteristics, and more. Browse by industry or search by keyword to access these comprehensive reports.
- First Research Industry IntelligenceProvides access to: Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates; Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.
- StatistaTo find industry and market information, select "Industry and Market Reports" From the "Reports" drop down on the top menu bar. Then do a keyword search for the industry or market / country name.
Company Research
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. It also offers comprehensive "company dossiers" which can be found under the business topic.
- StatistaFor company information, select "company insights" under "Insights" on the top menu bar. Or simply do a keyword search for the company!
Country Information
- StatistaThe simplest method to find country information on Statista is to do a keyword search for the country name, and look for the "Statistics and Facts" topic (red icon). For country reports, select "Reports" from the top menu bar, and then "Country and Region Reports." Then search for a specific region or country.
You can also search for information about political and social topics of countries and regions by selecting "Policy and Society Reports" under "Reports."
- Statista Country Outlooks: Provides current key figures and forecasts on the economic and social development of a country. NOTE: Be sure to use the drop down menu under segment to find indicators under additional categories, like labor force and business environment. The charts and tables can all be downloaded as images or Excel spreadsheets.
Other sources of country risk and market opportunities include:
- Coface, a global credit insurer, has country risk analysis reports with grades. Use the drop down menu under "Economic Studies."
- Country Commercial Guides from the U.S. International Trade Administration include reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations and business customs prepared by U.S. Embassies by professionals from the Commerce Department, State Department, and other U.S. federal agencies.
- The Institute for Management Development (IMD) World Competitiveness Index ranks 64 countries on 334 competitiveness criteria. (All of the recommended countries for this assignment are in this index). Be sure to check out the individual country profiles - download in PDF to see everything on one page.
- World Bank DataBank World Development IndicatorsThis is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources.
Business News and Journals
- Business Source Complete
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
- Access World NewsFull-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.
- Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
- New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.