Research Guides: Education Special Collections: Additional Research Help

Contact Us!

Online Resources from SCRC

ExploreUK
Your first stop for discovery of SCRC's archives collections, prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Infokat Discovery
Use the UK Libraries' catalog, Infokat Discovery, to find SCRC's rare books and print collections.
James Still Correspondence Database
Lists letters received by Still and, in some cases, copies of his outgoing correspondence. Entries include such information as the date and place from which a letter was sent, its sender (correspondent), and Still's relationship with that person (when known).
John C. Wyatt Lexington Herald Leader Photographs Collection
John C. Wyatt Lexington Herald-Leader photographs (LHL) consist of an estimated 2 million unique photographic negatives spanning the years 1939-2001.
more...less...
The collection also contains associated newspaper clippings, job sheets, and hand-written photographers' notes. The LHL photographs are an unparalleled source of photographic evidence of the many historical, cultural, and industrial changes that have shaped Lexington and its surrounding region. The scope of the collection highlights the day to day activities of Kentuckians. It follows the changing urban landscape of Lexington, the agricultural, tobacco and horse racing industries, key national events such as World War II and Vietnam, as well as notable regional and national figures. It is the most extensive, single collection of still photographic images documenting Lexington's 20th Century history in existence.
Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program
Documents Kentucky’s role in the National Digital Newspaper Program, whose mission is to fund and make available online historic newspapers from all fifty U.S. States and its territories.
Notable Kentucky African Americans Database
Offers biographical and historical information about African Americans in and from Kentucky, including places and events.
Research Services Account
SCRC's Research Services Account is the key to utilizing the full range of research support services the UK Libraries Special Collection Research Center has to offer.Use your account to access the Breckinridge Research Room for SCRC material use or quiet study, to scan personal research material in the Breckinridge Digital Studio, or to submit scanning orders of SCRC materials.
SPOKEdb
Database of UK Libraries oral history holdings, including digitized oral histories, transcripts, and interview indexes.
UK Libraries Microfilm Database
Provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources.