Rare Books Librarian
How Do I Find Rare Books and Print Collections?
Use UK Libraries' online catalog, Infokat Discovery, to find rare books and print collections from the Special Collections Research Center. Rare books and print collections contain printed material from numerous geographic locations in a variety of formats, including: monographs (books); newspapers; serials (periodicals); pamphlets; and broadsides. Look for the "Submit Request to Special Collections Research Center" link beneath items any items from SCRC to schedule in-person use in the Breckinridge Research Room or to order digital scans.
Selected Kentucky History Rare Books and Print Collections in SCRC
- The Wreath, or, Verses on Various Subjects, 1820This book is the first collection of poetry written by a woman to be first published in Kentucky.
- Proceedings of the Convention of the Colored Men of Kentucky, 1866This pamphlet records details about the first Colored Convention to be held in Kentucky. These large gatherings of prominent members of the African American community sought to promote progress and success for the community both before and after the Civil War.
- Samuel Wilson CollectionIn 1946, prominent Lexington community member Judge Wilson left UK his massive gathering of print materials related to the history and settlement of Kentucky. This extensive collection contains numerous examples of frontier printing from throughout the state and surrounding areas.
Where Do I Find Newspapers?
That's a complicated question! There are a number of ways to find newspapers at UK Libraries depending on when and where they were published. To learn more about finding newspaper sources at UK Libraries, check out the guide below.