Best Bets for Archaeology & Anthropology Research
- Anthropology Plus
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English, Germanic, Slavic, Romance and selected Scandinavian languages from the 19th century to the present. - Human Relations Area File World Cultures (eHRAF)
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on aspects of cultural and social life. Organized into cultures and ethnic groups. Full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. - America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users - Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
- This link opens in a new window
This digital resource provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection, and spans four centuries and covers North and Central America.
Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Publications Overview
This Overview of Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Publications will help you understand the key differences between each of these source types.
Introduction to Scholarly Articles
Introduction to Scholarly Articles helps students who are new to scholarly research learn how to identify the characteristics of scholarly articles.
Length: Approximately 6-8 minutes
Find Scholarly Articles
UK Libraries subscribes to a huge number of article databases. If you're not sure where to start, use a Research Guide for your subject, Ask Us for suggestions, or try Academic Search Complete (search box below), a good general academic database.
It's a good idea to check the box to limit to Peer Reviewed journal articles if you were asked to find peer reviewed/scholarly articles.
Sample search terms for databases:
"college campuses" and "student activities"
crowdsourcing and business
"public spaces" and "social values"
universities and basketball arenas