Cite, cite, cite!
These sources can help you add information to the Wikipedia entries you're working on.
Cite and link as many sources as you can!
Reference sources available online with a UK LinkBlue ID
- Encyclopedia of Africa
This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of world history, politics, and culture for Africa. The articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Kwame Anthony Appiah, and available through our Oxford Reference subscription.
Periodicals available online with a UK LinkBlue ID and at the library
Critical Interventions: Journal of African Art History and Visual CultureISBN: ISSN 2326-411XPublication Date: 2007 -
Find Books in the Fine Arts Library collection
You can search the UK Libraries catalog, InfoKat, for books on African art, women, and modernism.
It's helpful to use library subject tags to narrow in on relevant titles. Here are some lists of potential titles based on subject headings:
Interesting Example Books from the Fine Arts Library collection
A Companion to Modern African Art by Call Number: N 7391.65 .S25 2013 -- and also available online! as an ebook with your UKY LinkBlue ID at the link aboveISBN: 9781444338379Publication Date: 2013Offering a wealth of perspectives on African modern and Modernist art from the mid-nineteenth century to the present, this new Companion features essays by African, European, and North American authors who assess the work of individual artists as well as exploring broader themes such as discoveries of new technologies and globalization. A pioneering continent-based assessment of modern art and modernity across Africa Includes original and previously unpublished fieldwork-based material Features new and complex theoretical arguments about the nature of modernity and Modernism Addresses a widely acknowledged gap in the literature on African Art
Africa through the eyes of women artists by Call Number: N 7380 .L25 1991ISBN: 086543199XPublication Date: 1991Portraits of twelve artists from Africa and the Diaspora.
Second Careers: Two Tributaries in African Art by ISBN: 9780300246872Publication Date: 2020An important investigation of the complicated relationship between canonical African art and the practices of contemporary African artists Recognizing the second lives of historical African artworks when they enter museum collections and addressing them in dialogue with the works of six established and emerging African artists, this book represents how today's practitioners are reformulating the continent's artistic traditions to respond to the contemporary landscape. Historically, African art objects such as masks and sculptures were composed of a matrix of materials that included medicine bundles, raffia assemblage, hides, and metal, some or all of which were repurposed: a "second career" for the materials. This practice of transforming materials has wider cultural resonance in Africa today, where electronics, discarded engines, and rubber tires are incorporated by artisans into domestic and personal items. The contemporary African artists featured here--El Anatsui (Ghana), Nnenna Okore (Nigeria), Zohra Opoku (Ghana), Elias Sime (Ethiopia), Tahir Carl Karmali (Kenya), and Gonçalo Mabunda (Mozambique)--reflect these dual traditions, reviving conceptual elements of historical African art by creating work that responds to the evolution of Africa's artistic traditions.
You Look Beautiful Like That by Call Number: TR 680 .L314 2001ISBN: 0300091885Publication Date: 2001"Seydou Keita and Malick Sidibe, two commercial photographers from Mali, took mesmerizing portraits in Bamako, the capital, during the period before and after the country achieved independence from France in 1960. This book presents a range of these portraits as well as excerpts from recent interviews with the artists and an essay placing their work in the context of the history of portrait photography in West Africa since its beginnings in the 1840s." "These photographs are the work of Africans controlling the camera to create images of African subjects for an African audience. For both photographers the studio was a theater in which to coordinate costumes, lighting, props, and poses to help the subjects define themselves. Keita adapted the formulas of portrait photography to make unique images that reflect both his clients' social identity within the community and their enthusiastic embrace of modernity. Later, as portrait conventions and societal roles became more flexible, Sidibe's subjects took an even more active part in constructing the images they wanted to convey. In Bambara, the language widely spoken in Mali, there is an expression, i ka nye tan, which means "you look beautiful like that." Keita's and Sidibe's protraits flatter the sitters, presenting them in the best possible light."--BOOK JACKET.
African Canvas: The Art of West African Women by Call Number: N 7398 .C68 1990ISBN: 0847811662Publication Date: 1990Documents folk architecture and wall paintings in Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Mauritania, and Mali.
Secrecy: African Art That Conceals and RevealsCall Number: N 7391.65 .S43 1993ISBN: 3791312308Publication Date: 1993"Secrecy: African Art That Reveals and Conceals" examines the relationships among art, knowledge, and secrecy in Africa.
The full text of Secrecy is also available freely online! from The Africa Center:
https://issuu.com/theafricacenternewyork/docs/secrecy_african_art_that_reveals_an?e=23433780/33397861
Citing Wikipedia articles with free pieces in the JSTOR digital library
- JSTOR guide to citing Wikipedia with JSTOR articlesJSTOR created this guide with easy instructions on how to use JSTOR as a source.
Tips for Using JSTOR as a Source
You can use JSTOR to help make the world a more factual place! Here are some quick tips:
FIND
- Use JSTOR’s Advanced Search to craft the best source search.
- Focus your search on the best secondary sources (“Journals”) with the most widely available access (“Read online”)
EVALUATE
- Sort your search results by date to find the most recent sources.
- In search results, look for the green FREE button that identifies open access articles.
- When viewing an article, look for the “References” tab to explore related sources.
LINK
- Use the “stable URL” from JSTOR citations to generate a quick & reliable link to the article from Wikipedia:
Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List - bibliography from Smithsonian Libraries
This annotated bibliography (list of books) by the librarian at the Smithsonian's Museum of African Art consists of books and exhibition catalogues about modern art in Africa.
Harmon Foundation materials
Photographs of works of art digitized by the (U.S.) National Archives from the Harmon Foundation's "Artworks from African Artists" series.
Reference sources freely available online
- Contemporary Women Artists on the WebCollected by: National Museum of Women in the Arts. This is a collection of contemporary women artists on the web. There are three components to this collection: 1. Individual websites created by artists working in conceptual or new media art 2. Artist profiles of women artists represented by contemporary art galleries 3. Women artist organizations
- Timeline of Art HistoryThe Metropolitan Museum of Art's encyclopedia of expert information on the objects and artists represented in their collections. (Less useful if the article you are citing does not involve art at the Met.)
Africa News Coverage
Need to identify reviews of an individual's work? Interviews with the artist? Notices of where your individual exhibited or performed? News coverage is an excellent source for that. The sources below provide access to current and past issues of major international newspapers like the New York Times, which is important to the international art world and African art of the diaspora, as well as news sources in Africa.
- African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. - SA Media (South Africa)
- This link opens in a new window
News research and press clipping service that retrospectively covers mainstream publications in South Africa, from 1978 to present day. Since much reporting on Africa is done in South Africa, these newspapers provide coverage of a range of issues facing countries throughout the entire African continent.