It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CLA 135-001: Greek & Roman Mythology (Leite): Getting Started
This is the course guide for the Fall 2021 section.
Classical mythology, Greek and Roman mythology, and Greco-Roman mythology all refer to both the study of and the body of myths from the ancient Greeks and Romans. These myths have continued to have strong influence on the art, literature, and culture of the Western world.
Call Number: Young Library Reference/Fine Arts Reference: LB2369 .G53 2016
Finding images of mythological figures
Below are some options for finding information on or images of art depicting Greek and Roman mythology. This would include works from the Greco-Roman period along with works from later periods that were inspired by classical mythology.
Covers the visual arts from prehistory to the present day with full-text definitions, biographies and bibliographies. Now includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Image partners include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and the Artists Rights Society. Part of Oxford Art Online. Database restricted to three simultaneous users; please logout (upper right-hand corner) when finished using the database.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, L'Annee Philologique is a bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
Search the full InfoKat Discovery combining terms in different fields (e.g., title, subject, date, language). InfoKat Discovery searches many UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.