Example of Published Test
Multidimensional Anxiety Questionnaire (MAQ) is a commercially available instrument published by PAR Inc.
Example: review of this questionnaire in Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Example: research study that utilized the questionnaire located in the Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) database.
Example of Unpublished Test
The Student Worry Questionnaire-30 is an unpublished instrument, attached as an appendix to this journal article:
Osman, A., Gutierrez, P. M., Downs, W. R., Kopper, B. A., Barrios, F. X., & Haraburda, C. M. (2001). Development and Psychometric Properties of the Student Worry Questionnaire–30. Psychological Reports, 88(1), 277–290. https://doi-org.ezproxy.uky.edu/10.2466/pr0.2001.88.1.277
Introduction
This guide is intended to help UK students identify tests, measures, instruments, scales, checklists, and other assessments for research/academic purposes.
Reviews of Tests & Measures
HAPI and MMY contain reviews of tests and measures, which often include validity and reliability information.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, codes schemes/manuals, rating scales, and tests) in health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
- Mental Measurements YearbookProduced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Please note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
Research Studies Containing Tests & Measures
Search in these databases to locate research studies that have utilized tests and measures:
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- PsycINFOProvides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books, and dissertations in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
- Social Work AbstractsProduced by the National Association of Social Workers. Contains references to social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Please note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
- Social Services AbstractsProvides indexing and abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky)Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
Published Tests
Tests and measures that are published are usually only available by purchasing them from the publisher, and not available to the general public. Check the HAPI or MMY databases on this guide for publishing information on a specific test or measure. Or do a web search for the title.
Statement on the Use of Secure Psychological Tests in the Education of Graduate and Undergraduate Psychology Students, from the American Psychological Association.
Unpublished Tests
Not all tests and measures are published. Many unpublished (or noncommercial) tests and measures exist in the in the behavioral sciences literature, i.e. in research studies published in journal articles. See the box titled "Research Studies Containing Tests & Measures" to identify a database to use.
Ethical User Responsibilities
Users of unpublished tests have certain ethical responsibilities. Please contact the instrument's author and request permission to use it. If you cannot locate the author, obtain permission from the publisher holding the copyright to the original material.
Tests and Measurements - Books and eBooks
Books by Subject:
Books by Title:
Essentials of Psychological Testing
An easy-to-understand overview of the key concepts of psychological testing Fully updated and revised, the second edition of Essentials of Psychological Testing surveys the basic principles of psychometrics, succinctly presents the information needed to understand and evaluate tests, and introduces readers to the major contemporary reference works in the field. This engaging, practical overview of the most relevant psychometric concepts and techniques provides the foundation necessary for advanced study in the field of psychological assessment. Each clear, well-organized chapter includes new examples and references, featuring callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as "Test Yourself" questions that help gauge and reinforce readers' grasp of the information covered. The author's extensive experience and deep understanding of the concepts presented are evident throughout the book, particularly when readers are reminded that tests are tools and that, like all tools, they have limitations. Starting with a basic introduction to psychological tests, their historical development, and their uses, the book also covers the statistical procedures most frequently used in testing, the frames of reference for score interpretation, reliability, validity and test item considerations, as well as the latest guidelines for test selection, administration, scoring and reporting test results. Whether as an orientation for those new to the field, a refresher for those already acquainted with it, or as reference for seasoned clinicians, this book is an invaluable resource. SUSANA URBINA, PHD, is Professor Emeritus of Psychology at the University of North Florida, where she taught courses in psychological testing and assessment. A Diplomate of the American Board of Assessment Psychology and a licensed psychologist, Dr. Urbina practiced in the field of psychological assessment for over a decade. She coauthored the seventh edition of Psychological Testing with Anne Anastasi and has published numerous articles and reviews in the area of psychological testing.
ISBN: 1118707257Publication Date: 2014-06-30
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
This three-volume handbook represents a significant and indispensable reference tool for those studying the family. Vol. 1 contains full abstracts of 504 instruments plus abbreviated descriptions of another 472. Basic scale construction issues can be examined through the combined use of Vol. 2 & 3. An excellent reference tool that will fulfil researchers and clinicians need for quality instrumentation.
ISBN: 0803972504Publication Date: 2000-12-27
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
This classic and invaluable reference handbook, written for sex researchers and their students, has now been completely revised in a new, fourth edition. It remains the only easy and efficient way for researchers to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research.
ISBN: 9781315183169Publication Date: 2019-06-25- Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences byISBN: 9781610484299Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research - Volume 1: Couples, Families, and Children
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Each instrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This first volume covers measures for use with couples, families, and children; its companion focuses on adults. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
ISBN: 1280965754Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Measures For Clinical Practice and Research - Volume 2: Adults by
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Each instrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This volume focuses on scales for use with adults; its companion provides a range for couples, families, and children. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries. Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients' problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.
ISBN: 0195181913Publication Date: 2007-01-11
Measures of Spirituality/Religiosity (2018)
The interest in the topic of spirituality as a more or less independent dimension of quality of life is continuously growing, and research questions are beginning to change as the field of religiosity changes, becoming more diverse and pluralistic. Addressing new topics in health research also relies on standardized questionnaires. The number of instruments intended to measure specific aspects of spirituality is growing, and it is particularly difficult to evaluate the new instruments. This Special Issue will focus on some of the established instruments (updating them to different languages and cultures), but will also describe the features and intentions of newly-developed instruments, which may potentially be used in larger studies to develop knowledge relevant to spiritual care and practice. This Special Issue will serve as a resource on the instruments used to study the wide range of organized religiosity, the individual experience of the divine, and an open approach in the search for meaning and purpose in life.
ISBN: 3038979325Publication Date: 2019-04-30
The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment
Psychological assessment has always paralleled the growth of psychology and its specialties, and it is not an overstatement to say that measurement and assessment are the cornerstones of psychology, providing the tools and techniques for gathering information to inform our understanding of human behavior. However, the continued growth and new developments in the assessment literature requires an ongoing examination of the principles and practices of central importance to psychological assessment. The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment covers all areas of child and adolescent assessment. Leaders in the field summarize and synthesize state-of-the-science assessment theories, techniques, and applications. Placing an emphasis on clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues, chapters explore issues related to the foundations, models, special topics, and practice of psychological assessment. Appropriate as a desk reference or a cover-to-cover read, this comprehensive volume surveys fundamental principles of child assessment, including ability, achievement, behavior, and personality; covers the role of theory and measurement in psychological assessment; and presents new methods and data.
ISBN: 9780199796304Publication Date: 2013-04-17
