AAS 401: Independent Reading and Research in African American and Africana Studies

Scanned and searchable full-text images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. Coverage includes popular and scholarly as well as regional and niche publications.

Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable.

Nineteenth century newspaper collection that includes The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass’ Paper/Douglass' Monthly, Freedmen's Journal (Freedmen's Record), Freedom’s Journal, The National Era, The Negro Business League Herald, The North Star, and Provincial Freeman.

Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering five centuries. The resource offers case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Includes documents from the United States and Europe as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, this resource also includes documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

All known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Included are every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. In total, the collection contains more than 1,000 titles and nearly 850,000 pages.