Need help? Just ask!
Using Article Databases
Article databases allow you to access scholarly journal articles and often other resources like books, reference materials, and popular magazine and newspaper articles. Database search results are more focused and precise than those you find while web searching. Databases are also more trustworthy than the web. All material in databases is evaluated for accuracy and credibility by subject area specialists.
Find Articles, Books, and More
Find Journal Articles - Also called "Academic Articles," "Scholarly Articles," or "Peer-Reviewed Articles".
Why You Should Use Them
- Current Information - Journal articles are typically published monthly and therefore contain current research on a subject.
- Written by Scholars - Journal articles are written and reviewed by subject area scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
- Peer-Reviewed - This means the article is approved by other subject area experts before it is published.
- Focused - Academic articles tend to be focused on a narrow subject or research question.
Adapted from: https://libguides.kennesaw.edu/education
| Find Books - At the college level, use books written for an academic audience instead of those written for popular reading. |  |
Why You Should Use Them
- Depth - books provide in-depth analysis of a topic.
- Broad Coverage - books generally provide broad coverage of one or more topics.
- Extended Research - books can be an invaluable source for extended research.
Adapted from: https://libguides.kennesaw.edu/education
Click on a link below to find all books we have on these topics:
| Find Data and Statistics - Providing facts and figures from scholarly research lends support to your argument or position. |  |
Why You Should Use Them
-
Credibility - Data provide meaningful and replicable information about a topic, condition, or population.
-
Visual - Sometimes a picture or a chart or a graph really is worth a thousand words.
Adapted from: https://libguides.kennesaw.edu/education
Where to Look
- County Health Rankings & RoadmapsThe annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.
- Data - CDCOpen datasets made available by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- Google Dataset SearchSearch for datasets using this tool developed at Google.
- Healthy People 2030Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S.
- PEW Research Center: EducationFind numbers, facts, and trends shaping the education landscape.
- Sports Data Resources (ASA)A listing of data resources and online sports statistics forums for a number of sports, available online.
- Sports ReferenceSports Stats - fast, easy, and up-to-date.
Top Research Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)The major database for scholarly literature in communication studies. Includes many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- PsycINFOProvides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books, and dissertations in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextInternational journal and monograph indexing covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, etc., and contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Other Useful Links
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- Business ResourcesA guide on how to do research in the field of business.
- Marketing ResourcesLibrary guide to finding resources related to marketing.