Databases
Databases are structured collections of data created to facilitate accessibility. Databases can help you find all kinds of resources including books, journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, government documents, photographs, sound recordings, etc. Below, you will find relevant databases for Chinese Studies by category.
Chinese Studies Databases
- China Online Journals (Chinese interface)Full-text access (pdf and html) to nearly 7,000 journals published in China in business/economics (over 800 titles), arts/humanities (over 700 titles), law/politics (550 titles) and social sciences (over 1350 titles), health/medicine and biology (nearly 1200 titles), science and technology (nearly 2800 titles), and agriculture (over 500 titles).
- Chinese Newspapers CollectionFull-text of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers covering 1832-1953. Includes critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads. Coverage: 1832-1953
- Renmin Ribao (People's Daily) Digital Archive (1946-2012)The official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China and the central newspaper of record for the modern Chinese state.
- China: Culture and SocietySpanning three centuries, China: Culture and Society provides access to the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, from Cornell University Library collection in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these pamphlets focus on literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world, and address a wide variety of research interests and topics surrounding Chinese history, religion, culture and everyday life.
- China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980This project provides a variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first embassy to China in 1793 through to the Nixon/Health visits in 1972-74. It provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists - and documents many of the key events that happened in this period. It focuses on Chinese history generally and Sino-Western contacts over the last two centuries more specifically. Includes e.g., visual resources, original pamphlets, newspaper and journal runs, personal diaries, and diplomatic papers. Also includes summary essays, a set of biographies of key figures, and external links to other digital resources.
- China Academic Conference PapersPublication of humanities and social sciences conferences in China.
- Foreign Office Files for ChinaThis collection contains formerly restricted British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Featuring diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates.
- China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural ExchangeThis collection is sourced from collections at American and Canadian libraries including the Massachusetts Historical Society and the Peabody Essex Museum, Salem. It focuses on the history of the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the early 18th and 20th centuries.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- MLA International BibliographyOffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Project MuseCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Wiley Online LibraryMultidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Provides access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. UK Libraries subscribes to selected resources from this large collection.
- Literature OnlineA fully searchable Library of literary works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, key criticism and reference resources.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Art Index
Art Index is an art research database providing high-quality indexing for hundreds of national and international art periodicals, including 370 active indexed journals. In addition to indexed journals, Art Index includes information about more than 14,000 art dissertations and more than 229,000 image reproductions.
(Please note our subscription allows 8 simultaneous users across any location. To help other researchers, please close the browser when you are finished using this database.) - Arts and Humanities Citation IndexThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index in Web of Science indexes 87 major American and European art periodicals such as Apollo, ARTnews, Art Bulletin, museum journals, etc.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)Over 700 journal backfiles. Full-text from the first volume to 2000. Completely full-text. Includes journals in foreign languages.
Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933 - 1955American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time, listing nearly 100,000 dissertations.
- Open DissertationsCreated from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations is a free electronic theses and dissertations database (ETD) offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs, including those previously available in American Doctoral Dissertations. It may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)Database of open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 5 million theses and dissertations (as of 10/1/19).
