This is an overall comprehensive engineering guide. Separate guides exist for some engineering disciplines.
Primary Engineering Databases
Here are the primary engineering databases. If you are looking for additional databases, click on the "Databases" tab above or go to the specific subject guide for your major or research area listed to the left.
- Compendex This link opens in a new window The primary resource for finding articles on all fields of engineering with citations/abstracts dating back to 1884.
This link opens in a new window
- Engineering Index Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. Includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Subject coverage: Aerospace and aircraft engineering; Aluminum; Automotive engineering; Bonding, brazing, soldering, and welding; Bioengineering and biotechnology; Biomaterials and biomedical engineering; Casting and molding; Ceramics; Chemical and electrochemical properties; Chemical engineering; Chemistry; Civil engineering; Composites; Construction materials; Copper; Corrosion; Earthquake engineering; Energy, fuels and propellants; Engineered materials; Environmental engineering; Working and forming
- This link opens in a new window
- IEEE Xplore One of the largest article databases in engineering. IEEE journals, transactions, letters, and magazines from 1988 with select content back to 1913, IEEE conference proceedings from 1988 with select content back to 1953, IET journals, letters, and magazines from 1988 with select content back to 1965, IET conference proceedings from 1988, IEEE books from 1974.
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus SCOPUS is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering News from Science Daily
Loading ...
Professional Engineers
Here are some useful links for Professional Engineers or those looking to gain licensure.
- National Councils of Examiners for Engineering and SurveyingContains information about exams, sample questions, and other useful information.
Director of Science & Engineering Library, Biology & Chemistry Liaison
