Find Background Information
Research topics are often formed from a vague or general idea. Background information is used for providing definitions, historical background, or context, and for enlarging your initial idea. Begin with Gale Virtual Reference Library to quickly locate information on your topic or to help you focus your topic idea.
eEncyclopedias
Use these databases to locate general, introductory information about topics. These are a good place to get started if you need background information.
- Open Encyclopedia of AnthropologyOpen access encyclopedia that introduces social anthropology topics; entries written by anthropology scholars and practitioners.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - SAGE Knowledge
- This link opens in a new window
A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology. - Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all Oxfords Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias in one place, covering 25 different subject areas, with new titles and editions added throughout the year. Includes continuous updating and exclusive online-only content. Over 2 million entries in almost 450 titles. - Britannica School Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Includes linking to Britannica Academic and Britannica Escolar.
Spotlight
Zooarchaeology and Field Ecology by
This photographic atlas, developed over twenty years of teaching in the field, expedites the work of the zooarchaeologist by integrating both osteology and wildlife ecology into a single volume. Zooarchaeology, the study of animal remains found at archaeological sites, is interdisciplinary in nature, requiring students and researchers to not only master the technical skills of identifying fragmentary bones and teeth but also to develop a deep understanding of the taxonomy, natural history, behavior, and ecology of the species identified. Until now, these topics have always been treated separately. This book is the only field guide and laboratory manual to combine animal ecology and natural history with the detailed osteology of all the vertebrate classes (fishes, amphibians, birds, and mammals) and all the primary orders native to western North America. Skeletal images are shown at a variety of magnifications and views and are accompanied by photographs of the animals in their characteristic habitats.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781607814856Publication Date: 2016
Websites
- Smithsonian Global Sound
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Comprised of thousands tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this streaming encyclopedia provides listeners with a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Selected Blogs
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences - Anthropology
Loading ...