Databases provide portals to research literature in subject areas. The data sources provide links to numbers behind the science.
Databases
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef, is the primary earth and environmental science database for North American. It covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and globally from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
- AAPG DatapagesAAPG Datapages includes full-text for the following titles: AAPG Bulletin (1917 - ); more than 230 AAPG Special Volumes; Journal of Petroleum Geology (1978-2004); Journal of Sedimentary Research (1931 - ); and all publications from the Gulf Coast, Midcontinent, Rocky Mountain, and Southwestern Groups. New collections continue to be added.AAPG Datapages has been funded through an endowment gift by Kentucky graduate Jay G. Henthorne, Jr., Class of '64, in honor of Lois J. Campbell.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides access to numerous databases containing information from scholarly journals, books, reports and conference proceedings.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database offering access to the full-text of Elsevier peer-reviewed journals and book chapters.
How to get full-text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Data Sources
- National Geologic Map DatabaseView and download historical and current geologic maps and data from the USGS.
- U.S. Geological Survey Science Data CatalogThe USGS Science Data Catalog provides seamless access to USGS research and monitoring data from across the nation.
- USDA - Web Soil SurveyWeb Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey.
- Paleobiology Database: Data ExplorerFilter fossil occurrences by time, space, and taxonomy, and displays their modern and paleogeographic locations
- NOAA OneStop (data search platform)Search for any NOAA data with a metadata record. It is an interoperable tool designed to explore data from across scientific disciplines, formats, time periods, and locations.