Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Earth and Environmental Sciences: Maps

A guide providing suggested resources and other information for research on the topics and subtopics of Earth and Environmental Sciences

About the Gwen Curtis Map Collection

Access to the collection is available from 9:00am to 3:00pm, Monday – Friday. Due to repairs to the main elevator, please book an appointment or email Sarah Watson before visiting the collection.


In 2018, the collection was named in honor of Gwen Curtis, who worked with the maps for 45 years. During her tenure, the Map Collection grew to become the largest research map collection in Kentucky.

Overview of Materials

The Map Collection includes approximately 250,000 paper maps and aerial photos. Below are examples of the types of cartographic materials found in the collection. Additionally, many of the materials are indexed in InfoKat Discovery.

- Aerial photos of Kentucky

- Current and historic Kentucky city, county, and state maps

- Sanborn fire insurance maps of Kentucky cities

- Digital images of historic Kentucky maps

- Topographic maps of all 50 states

- U.S. and international geologic maps

- International topographic maps, mostly WWII era

- U.S. and international nautical charts

Profile Photo
Sarah Watson
she/her
Subjects: Geography & Maps