Article Databases
- BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRMBIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings).
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- CAB Abstracts (CABI) with Full TextAgricultural and applied life sciences journals, books, proceedings, monographs, and technical reports, with emphasis on agronomy, forestry, public health, environmental issues, and the management of natural resources.
Tsunami Resources
- Tsunami Warning Center NOAA's two Tsunami Warning Centers (PTWC and WC/ATWC) have separate areas of responsibility, which are the geographical areas within which each Center has the responsibility for the dissemination of messages and the provision of interpretive information to emergency managers and other officials, news media, and the public.
- Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission Tsunami Programme The IOC Tsunami Programme aims at reducing the loss of lives and livehoods that could be produced worldwide by tsunamis. In order to accomplish this, the IOC Tsunami Unit supports IOC Member States in assessing tsunami risk, implementing Tsunami Early Warning Systems (EWS) and in educating communities at risk about preparedness measures.
- International Tsunami Information Center (ITIC) Located in Honolulu, the International Tsunami Information Centre (ITIC) was established in November 1965 by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). ITIC maintains and develops relationships with scientific research and academic organizations, civil defense agencies, and the general public in order to carry out its mission to mitigate the hazards associated with tsunamis by improving tsunami preparedne
- National Tsunami Hazard Mitigation Program A coordinated national effort to assess tsunami threat, prepare community response, issue timely and effective warnings, and mitigate damage.
- NOAA Center for Tsunami Research The NOAA Center for Tsunami Research, located at NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory in Seattle, WA, focuses on an integrated approach to improving tsunami warning and mitigation:
- NOAA Tsunami Website NOAA has primary responsibility for providing tsunami warnings to the Nation, and a leadership role in tsunami observations and research.
- Scripps Institute of Oceanography Scripps Institution of Oceanography is one of the oldest, largest, and most important centers for ocean and earth science research, education, and public service in the world. Research encompasses physical, chemical, biological, geological, and geophysical studies of the oceans and earth.
- Sea Level Stations The Sea Level Stations website has been established as the new home for "A Tsunami-Focused Data Sharing Framework" being developed by the NOAA Integrated Data & Environmental Applications (IDEA) Center.
Additional Resources on Tsunamis
- Tsunami Research Center (University of Southern California) The TRC is actively involved with all aspects of tsunami research; inundation field surveys, numerical and analytical modeling, and hazard assessment, mitigation and planning. The TRC is a unit of the Department of Civil Engineering of the University of Southern California.
- TsunamiReady The TsunamiReady Program, developed by the National Weather Service, is designed to help cities, towns, counties, universities and other large sites in coastal areas reduce the potential for disastrous tsunami-related consequences.
- Coastal and Hydraulics Laboratory (CHL) The U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center's Coastal & Hydraulics Laboratory (CHL) performs ocean, estuarine, riverine, and watershed regional scale systems analyses research support work for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the DoD Task Force in support of the Ocean Commission.
Science Daily Tsunami News
Loading ...