Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) attempts to fill gaps in the UK Libraries' collection. If the collection lacks items needed for research, University of Kentucky faculty, emeritus faculty, students, and staff may be able to obtain loans or reproductions of the articles needed for their research. The ILL staff will attempt to obtain the material from another library or document vendor. Three ILL departments are available to help UK Researchers.
Look for Scholarly Journal Articles Here
You must write a research paper (15pp) on a topic related to current debates about the crisis of higher education (e.g., tuition, student debt, administrative bloat, diversity, sports, decline of humanities, poor student achievement, etc.). Students must evaluate competing positions on these questions and defend their own position.
Example search terms
Land Grant Universities and mission
Administrative Bloat and budget
Sexual Violence and universities
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A good all-purpose database for a variety of subjects. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on education research. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Start here for overview articles that compare and contrast. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups.
Identify the Major Ideas of Your Research Question
How does diversity benefit and hinder academic freedom in institutions of higher education.
| Major Ideas | Related Terms | |
| diversity | institutional racism | |
| safe space | ||
| academic freedom | intellectual freedom | |
| censorship | ||
| challenge | ||
| higher education | universities | |
| college students | ||
| postsecondary education | ||
How can we address the mental health crisis among college students in institutions of higher learning to create better environments for learning and social collaboration
| Major Ideas | Related Terms |
| college students | |
| mental health | psychology |
| mental disorder | |
| medication & stress | |
| social collaboration | social media |
| teamwork | |
| relationships AND | |
|
media |