Reference Databases
Additional resources for learning more about a topic are reference databases which are searchable collections of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries, and other specialized reference sources. Some reference databases include:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all Oxfords Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias in one place, covering 25 different subject areas, with new titles and editions added throughout the year. Includes continuous updating and exclusive online-only content. Over 2 million entries in almost 450 titles. - SAGE Knowledge
- This link opens in a new window
A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Search tips for finding reference books
To find reference books at UK Libraries search using InfoKat Discovery.
Try starting with a keyword search
- Enter words that describe your topic (names, places, events, etc.) and the type of work.
- When you find a book on your topic, examine its subject headings for relevance to your topic.
- Click on a hyperlinked subject heading to perform subject heading search and retrieve related books.
Example keyword searches:
- crime United States history encyclopedia
- crime historiography
You can also try performing a subject heading search in InfoKat Discovery, if you know a Library of Congress subject heading such as:
- Political crimes and offenses -- United States -- History -- Sources
Once you get a list of results, you may want to select the Resource Type --> Books to further filter the list (left hand side of the page).