Crime in History: Government Resources & Statistics

Includes Bills & Laws (1987 - present), Hearings (1817 - present), and much more! (United States).

Grouped according to the FBI's top investigative priorities and related categories, are many of their famous and most significant cases over the past century. The monographs and write-ups have been made available for your use. You may download them for any non-commercial use without obtaining permission from the FBI. If you don’t see a case listed here, try their search engine or history story index.

The Vault is the FBI's FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies.

• Fugitives
• Gangster Era
• Organized Crime
• Violent Crime

FindLaw's searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Reports Vol. 150). Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text. Free.

Complete run of SCOTUS opinions from 1754 to present, in PDF format.

Records of the U.S. federal courts held at the National Archives include records created by: district courts; circuit courts; courts of appeal; and Supreme Court. The types of records are primarily case files. Categories of case files include: civil; admiralty; equity; law; criminal; and bankruptcy cases. In addition to case files, other type of records are: dockets; transcripts; minutes; administrative files; execution books; order books; rule books; and final record books. The earliest court records in NARA holdings date to approximately 1790.

A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

• Search the whole of the Proceedings and all published Ordinary's Accounts (for the period 1679 to 1772)
• Statistics
This search facility allows you to generate tables or pie or bar charts based on the tagged information contained in the Proceedings. You may limit the body of trials counted by specifying a keyword and/or particular types of tagged information.

• Tracing London Convicts in Britain & Australia, 1780-1925
​This website allows you to search millions of records from around fifty datasets, relating to the lives of 90,000 convicts from the Old Bailey. Use this site to search individual convict life archives, explore and visualise data, and to learn more about crime and criminal justice in the past.

A complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, 1975-2016.

The UCR Program consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program. The UCR Program publishes annual reports for each of these data collections and a preliminary semiannual report of summary data each winter, as well as special compilations such as Cargo Theft Report, Human Trafficking, and NIBRS topical studies. In addition to the four major data collections, the UCR Program will manage the new National Use-of-Force Data Collection.

Compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources with over 37,000 data series. Online version of the revised 5 volume paper resource. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation. You can download tables in Excel or CSV, and also download entire groups of tables as a zip file. You can also create custom tables by merging columns from multiple tables, then download, print, or graph the resulting tables.

The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.