It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 499-002: Drugs & Alcohol: Finding Articles & Primary Sources
A special topic guide for Dr. Taylor's Research Seminar: Drugs & Alcohol, Spring 2021
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books from London, the British Isles and the colonies gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817): "the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media." The present digital collection totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
Consists of 19th century newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers (e.g., those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial areas of the manufacturing Midlands) as well as publications from Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1690-present and information about other American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Coverage 1939-2001. Consists of more than 2 million unique photographic negatives. The collection also contains associated newspaper clippings, job sheets, and hand-written photographers' notes. The LHL photographs are a source of photographic evidence of the many historical, cultural, and industrial changes that have shaped Lexington and the surrounding region.
Kentucky's National Digital Newspaper Program (KY-NDNP) website offers comprehensive lists of the University of Kentucky's digitized historic newspapers available in both the Kentucky Digital Library and the Library of Congress' Chronicling America. The website also provides an extensive "how-to" on historic newspaper digitization per the NDNP specifications.
This database provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources. Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Courier-Journal). To find other available Kentucky newspapers, search the InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog or consult the librarians at the Reference Desk.
Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Primary Source Collection. Includes:
- Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
- Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
British History Online is a collection of nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. BHO also provides access to 40,000 images and 10,000 tiles of historic maps of the British Isles.
This project provides a variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first embassy to China in 1793 through to the Nixon/Health visits in 1972-74. It provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists - and documents many of the key events that happened in this period. It focuses on Chinese history generally and Sino-Western contacts over the last two centuries more specifically. Includes e.g., visual resources, original pamphlets, newspaper and journal runs, personal diaries, and diplomatic papers. Also includes summary essays, a set of biographies of key figures, and external links to other digital resources.
Over 60,000 manuscripts and documents covering the reach of the British Empire, all the way to Australasia, South Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Also includes references to biographies and chronologies. Organized into five sections:
- Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969
- Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire
- The Visible Empire
- Religion & Empire
- Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism c1607-2007
This digital collection explores American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It is made up of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature.
Provides access to primary sources that focus on 15 significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine, and spirits.
Contains the published records and codes of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, early state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, and digests. A fully searchable digital archive drawing on documents from the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.