Reference - Background Information - Drugs & Alcohol in History - Research Guides at University of Kentucky

Reference Books & E-Books

Often times using a reference book to begin your research can be the most helpful starting point to explore a topic or find some contextual information. However, even if you have some knowledge of your topic, a reference book could be used to discover leads to more in-depth resources.

You can find general, subject-specific, or data-focused reference books like some of these below searching InfoKat Discovery.

Here is a short sample list of reference e-books to get you started.

Drugs in American Society: an Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law [3 Volumes] by Nancy E. Marion (Editor); Willard M. Oliver (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
This encyclopedia provides a multidisciplinary perspective on the various aspects of the American drug problem, including the drugs themselves, the actions taken in attempts to curb or stop the drug trade, the efforts at intervention and treatment of those individuals affected by drug use, and the cultural and economic effects of drug use in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Pamela Korsmeyer (Editor); Henry R. Kranzler (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Alcohol: Social, Cultural, and Historical Perspectives by Scott C. Martin (Editor)
Publication Date: April 08, 2015
Examining the history of alcohol worldwide, this encyclopedia goes beyond the historical lens to examine alcohol as a cultural and social phenomenon, used both for good and for ill. Alcohol has many purposes and significance, it has become a strong part of cultures around the world as usage ranges from religious purposes, to a simple toast, to sealing a business deal.
Tobacco in History and Culture by Jordan Goodman
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
A two-volume survey of how tobacco became one of the most important commodities in the history of world trade and the source of one of the biggest public health concerns in modern history. Presents 136 alphabetically arranged entries on all aspects of tobacco. Illustrated with graphs, charts, drawings and photographs.

Reference Databases

Additional resources for learning more about a topic are reference databases which are searchable collections of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries, and other specialized reference sources. Some reference databases include:

Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all Oxfords Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias in one place, covering 25 different subject areas, with new titles and editions added throughout the year. Includes continuous updating and exclusive online-only content. Over 2 million entries in almost 450 titles.
SAGE Knowledge
- This link opens in a new window
A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.