Director of Science & Engineering Library, Biology & Chemistry Liaison
Introduction to Energy
This guide provides sources for statistics and data in all these areas of energy, both domestic and international. This includes production, consumption, reserves, etc. The resources below are more general in nature, while more detailed statistics are found under the specific subject tabs.
Selected Books
The Energy Transition by
Against the backdrop of rapid advances in the energy sector, this book provides a concise overview of the complex challenges in the energy paradigm today, which revolve around the seemingly unsolvable energy equation. The author, an experienced energy professional, combines the various aspects of the energy transition into a single perspective. While highlighting a number of salient problems, he also explores grounds for optimism that these challenges can and will be met. After establishing the historical context, the book presents an analysis of today's energy industry, different energy sources, countries and determinants of energy demand, supplementing all sections with a wealth of global and local data. It subsequently proposes measures to solve the energy equation and a roadmap for a sustainable future, based on more efficient energy use, cleaner energy production and advanced technologies.
Call Number: eBook (Online)Publication Date: 2017
Energy Solutions to Combat Global Warming by
This book gathers an in-depth collection of 45 selected papers presented at the Global Conference on Global Warming 2014 in Beijing, China, covering a broad variety of topics from the main principles of thermodynamics and their role in design, analysis, and the improvements in performance of energy systems to the potential impact of global warming on human health and wellbeing. Given energy production's role in contributing to global warming and climate change, this work provides solutions to global warming from the point of view of energy. Incorporating multi-disciplinary expertise and approaches, it provides a platform for the analysis of new developments in the area of global warming and climate change, as well as potential energy solutions including renewable energy, energy efficiency, energy storage, hydrogen production, CO2 capture and environmental impact assessment. The research and analysis presented herein will benefit international scientists, researchers, engineers, policymakers and all others with an interest in global warming and its potential solutions.
Call Number: eBook (Online)Publication Date: 2016
Article Databases
- Business Source Complete Excellent source for current articles in all areas of imports/exports, consumption, production, capacity, and reserves
This link opens in a new window
- NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service) Good source for US government reports, many available in PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
- Compendex This link opens in a new window Covers all fields of engineering back to 1884. Comprehensive and primary database for engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Primary science database
- This link opens in a new window
United States Resources
- Levelized Cost of Electricity in the United States by County (Interactive Map) This map shows an estimate of the cheapest electricity generation technology in every county in the U.S. using the assumptions in Rhodes et al., “A geographically resolved method to estimate levelized power plant costs with environmental externalities.”
- EIA's Energy Outlook 2017 with Projections to 2050 EIA’s Annual Energy Outlook provides modeled projections of domestic energy markets through 2050, and includes cases with different assumptions of macroeconomic growth, world oil prices, technological progress, and energy policies. With strong domestic production and relatively flat demand, the United States becomes a net energy exporter over the projection period in most cases.
Kentucky Energy Resources
- Kentucky Energy Profile (2015) The Commonwealth of Kentucky remains a leader in energy production and consumption. The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet (EEC) offers the Kentucky Energy Profile 2015 to serve as an impartial point of reference for the general public and as a foundation for discussing Kentucky’s energy future.
International Energy Organizations
- World Energy Council (WEC) The World Energy Council is the principal impartial network of leaders and practitioners promoting an affordable, stable and environmentally sensitive energy system for the greatest benefit of all. Formed in 1923, the Council is the UN-accredited global energy body, representing the entire energy spectrum, with more than 3000 member organisations located in over 90 countries and drawn from governments, private and state corporations, academia, NGOs and energy-related stakeholders. The World Energy Council informs global, regional and national energy strategies by hosting high-level events, publishing authoritative studies, and working through its extensive member network to facilitate the world’s energy policy dialogue.
- International Energy Agency Founded in 1974, the IEA was initially designed to help countries co-ordinate a collective response to major disruptions in the supply of oil, such as the crisis of 1973/4. While this remains a key aspect of its work, the IEA has evolved and expanded significantly. The IEA examines the full spectrum of energy issues including oil, gas and coal supply and demand, renewable energy technologies, electricity markets, energy efficiency, access to energy, demand side management and much more. Through its work, the IEA advocates policies that will enhance the reliability, affordability and sustainability of energy in its 29 member countries and beyond.
Energy in the EU
- Shedding Light on Energy in the EU: A guided tour of energy statistics (2017) A new tool developed by Eurostat replies to the needs of those who are not familiar with the energy sector, but who would like to better understand the challenges the Energy Union initiative is facing. For more experienced users, the whole energy process – from source to final use – is presented in a very detailed way in a user-friendly Sankey-diagram.
- EuroStat Energy Statistics 2017 Detailed, complete, timely and reliable statistics are essential to monitor the energy situation at European level. Energy statistics on supply, trade, stocks, transformation and consumption are indeed the basis for any sound energy policy decision. Annual and monthly stats.
Information on Energy
Petroleum Reserve, Cameron Parish, LA