Secondary Scholarship - Articles, etc.
Generally, in these databases you'll find scholarly articles, essays, e-books, theses, and dissertations.
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection Digital collection of over 5,400 books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in the ACLS HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
- JSTOR Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
Specialized Databases
- America: History and Life The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users
- Notable Kentucky African Americans Contains short biographies of notable African Americans with Kentucky roots or ties, organized by profession or subject. Also includes entries for events and locations. Includes links to related resources.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies to document the multiplicity of women's reform movements.
Theses & Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.