Historical Research

Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable.

AM Explorer provides a single point of access to search across all of Adam Matthew's archival collections. For more information on doing research with AM Explorer, check out Adam Matthew's Research Methods Primary Sources.

More than 6,500 historical periodical titles from the Colonial Era through the early 20th Century (1684-1912), ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil.

Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Primary Source Collection.

Archival collection from the British National Archives. The content spans 30 years, from the election of the National Party in 1948 through to 1980; a period in which South Africa faced increasing international resistance and boycotts, internal strikes and violent demonstrations

Presents digital collections of historical documents. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

This project provides a variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first embassy to China in 1793 through to the Nixon/Health visits in 1972-74. It provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists - and documents many of the key events that happened in this period. It focuses on Chinese history generally and Sino-Western contacts over the last two centuries more specifically. Includes e.g., visual resources, original pamphlets, newspaper and journal runs, personal diaries, and diplomatic papers. Also includes summary essays, a set of biographies of key figures, and external links to other digital resources.

"Advice Literature for men and women." Access to approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, including a strong core of documents from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals.

Over 36,000 texts covering life in 17th- and 18th-century America, e.g., agriculture and auctions, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans, enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement. As of July 13, 2010, includes the Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.

Over 36,000 texts, completing the Early American Imprints set. Series II is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Most every 18th century book printed in England, over 125,000 titles, over 25 million pages. Full-text, fully searchable. This "Long Century" gave birth to several major revolutions: the intellectual, industrial, French and American revolutions. During this Age of Enlightenment publishers issued books on an endless variety of subjects. During this century literacy spread widely and with great passion readers devoured books.

Over 60,000 manuscripts and documents covering the reach of the British Empire, all the way to Australasia, South Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Also includes references to biographies and chronologies.

Provides access to primary sources that focus on 15 significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine, and spirits.

Contains over a million titles of statutes, codes, regulations, session laws, journals, and commentaries for northern, central, and eastern European jurisdictions; 50% in English, 50% in western European languages. Source libraries: Yale Law Library; Harvard Law School Library; George Washington University Law Library.

Contains treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, and other materials related to American and British law from nineteenth and early twentieth century.

Contains the published records and codes of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, early state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, and digests. A fully searchable digital archive drawing on documents from the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.

ProQuest Black Studies combines archives research experience with Black Historical Newspapers and curated secondary sources. The combination of first-hand accounts through primary sources combined with secondary sources of videos, journals and essays equips students to think critically and analyze the people, organizations, and events of Black Studies from multiple perspectives.

Includes documents from the United States and Europe as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, this resource also includes documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.