The Hunter M. Adams Design Collection houses the majority of the university's collections which pertain to architecture, interior design and historic preservation. The collection is primarily a design collection with strong emphasis on works by architects and designers in the U.S.and Europe. Furniture, urban planning, adaptive reuse, construction materials and methods, building types, some landscape are examples of other topics included in the collection.
University of Kentucky Historic Preservation Program
To learn more about the University of Kentucky Historic Preservation program please inquire below:
https://design.uky.edu/historic-preservation/
Databases for Historic Preservation
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsComprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design from over 700 publications
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- Kentucky Digital LibraryOnline finding aids and digitized material from archival collections across the state of Kentucky, particularly small academic institutions and public libraries. Note that content from UK, UofL, and others is not available on the new KDL. Many previous partners now provide access via their own institutions digital libraries. See ExploreUK for access to UK content.
- Kentucky Geological Survey Databases, Maps, and PublicationsSearchable resources, including full-text publications and data files. Covers Oil and Gas Well records, Water Well records, and Coal information.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
- America: History and LifeThe premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users
- ExploreUK A Historical Collection of Images and Text from the University Archives
