Electronic Reference Tools
- Kentucky State Digital ArchivesCollected and preserved digital content of archival material created by state and local government agencies. Records include photographs, videos, audio recordings, speeches, press releases, annual reports, and meeting minutes.
- Kentucky Website ArchiveHistorical web pages for constitutionally elected officers of the Executive Branch of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The Website Archives also contains historical web pages of the Legislative Research Commission (Legislative Branch) and the Administrative Office of the Courts (Judicial Branch). Coverage from 1997.
Special Collections Research Center
- Kentucky History Research GuideInformation about access to archives, rare books, print collections, images, and oral histories.
- Kentucky Writers: Authors of the Bluegrass StateFind a collection of authors that includes native Kentuckians and those who have simply come to call Kentucky home. Highlights a variety of genres, including fiction, non-fiction, novels, short-stories, poetry, and professional writings.
Official Kentucky State Government Website
- Kentucky State Government Website (Kentucky.gov)Official website of Kentucky state government.
Finding Books on Kentucky Topics
The InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog is a good place to start your Kentucky research. You can search by keyword, subject, author, and title to find material held in the UK Libraries. InfoKat Discovery will give you the location, call number, availability and, if available electronically, the link to those materials.
Note: Any geographic term like Kentucky or Lexington can be searched as a subject term. Searching Kentucky as a subject focuses the results on information ABOUT Kentucky.
Using the InfoKat Discovery Advanced Search (click on the 'Advanced Search' link on the right of the search box) lets you combine terms by searching Kentucky as a subject in one box and other keywords or subjects that apply to your research in a second box, allowing you to find items that discuss Kentucky in relation to your topic.
Also consider searching 'Kentucky' as a subject and one of the following subject terms for specific types of information:
Cemeteries
Census
City Directories
County Histories
Court Records
Emigration/Immigration/Naturalization
Family Papers/Records
Land Records
Military Records
Vital Records
